LibGuides: IMAGE RESEARCH GUIDE: Finding Images/Media on the Web

Citing Images

The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.

Citing Images - General
This site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
Citing ARTstor Images
This page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.

Tools and Search Engines

This list provides links to the most common image search engines. Both Google Images and Tin Eye allow you to do a reverse image search by using the image rather than text to find similar or better images as well as more information.

TinEye
Tin Eye is a reverse images search engine whereby you search for images using images.
Google Images
Flickr Creative Commons

General Images

Images from these sources wll be useful for a variety of disciplines.

JSTOR Open Collections Filter on Open Collections.
Artsy "Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art...Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online."
Internet Archive Book Images
Over 2.6 million copyright free images.
Creative Commons You can choose to search images for commerical, educational, or private use. Some images, audio and video files are licensed to be altered to new works.
Getty Research Institut/J. Paul Getty Museum - Open Content Program Images from the museum and research institute collections available for any use by anyone.
American Memory/Library of Congress FSA: http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/fsac/
LUNacommons.org LUNAcommons.org is a free public resource for users to discover primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. Collections are from reputable sources for educational and public use.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Catalog of American Portraits Search more than 80,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP). NOTE: Many entries will not have an image due to copyright restrictions.
Flickr
Public Domain Review "The Public Domain Review aspires to become a bounteous gateway into the whopping plenitude that is the public domain, helping our readers to explore this rich terrain by surfacing unusual and obscure works, and offering fresh reflections and unfamiliar angles on material which is more well known."
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources "Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 340 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts. An invaluable tool for use in the classroom, educators can integrate printable activity guides and discussion questions related to each unit into their course work."
Digital New Zealand DigitalNZ is the search site for all things New Zealand. We connect you to reliable digital collections from our content partners, including: libraries museums galleries government departments the media community groups, and others. On DigitalNZ you can discover more than 30 million digital items from more than 200 organisations on any topic, all for free. You'll find: videos newspapers maps photographs audio artworks news reports
vads: the online resource for visual arts VADS is a searchable online resource with image collections covering fashion, textiles, architecture, design, posters, political cartoons, photography, sculpture, painting and more. The collections are UK centric as the resource was created for use by educators and students in the UK.
World Images The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
Wellcome Images Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
British Pathé YouTube channel Footage of major events in Britain and around the world from 1896-1976.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Boatwright Memorial Library

Citing Images

Tools and Search Engines

General Images