Skip to Main Content
Monologues, One-act Plays, etc.
Can't find what you're looking for in the UR Library catalog? Use the box below to search in WorldCat. You can request it from another library by clicking the "Request Item" button.
Full Texts of Plays Online
Theatre & Drama Premium This link opens in a new window
Scroll down to "Collections" and click on "Drama Texts Collection" to search for scripts to over 13,000 plays. You can also sometimes find scripts side-by-side with streaming video performances in this resource.
New Play Exchange
An open, egalitarian platform on which writers all over the world can share their work and others can discover that work.
Indexes and Other Resources for Searching
To find a specific play, go to OneSearch and enter the author's last name plus one or more title keywords (ex: Williams and Streetcar). If it doesn't turn up, you can use one of the indexes named below to determine where your play has been published. If the library doesn't own it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections (covers 1901-2010)
- Play Index, a multi-volume index to plays published in collections or periodicals (1949-2002). Call number PN1625.A1 P53x
- Cumulated Dramatic index, 1909-1949. Call number PN1625.A1 C85x 1965
- Latin American Play Index (1962-80) Call number PQ7082.D7 A15 1983
- The Drama Scholars' Index to Plays and Filmscripts (1974-80). Call number PN1625.A1 S3x 1974
Identifying plays with specific attributes (you will then need to look for the script in Onesearch)
- Concord Theatricals (formerly Samuel French) licenses plays that you can search by cast attributes, period settings, costume requirements, etc. (the scripts are not freely accessible online).
- Stageplays.com sells scripts, but you can also use their powerful search feature to identify plays in a variety of categories
- Doollee is a searchable online guide to plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English between 1956-2021.