Can't Locate a Copy of an Article?
If you have enough information to identify the article (author, article title, journal title, volume/issue number, date, and page numbers), you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Click here and then scroll down to the "Submit a request" link.
Theatre Journals at UR
Theatre Journals and Magazines on the Web
Only some of these titles are scholarly (peer-reviewed). Hover over a title for more information.
- Stage DirectionsA non-scholarly publication with timely articles written by and for community, regional, and academic theater participants.
- VarietyDefinitely not scholarly. Click on "legit" for Theatre news and statistics
- New York Theatre WireA non-scholarly guide to what's playing on New York's stages. Includes reviews
Journal Indexes
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the performing arts, including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. (ProQuest)
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles and books on topics related to theatre, dance, and the performing arts. (EBSCO)
- Humanities Full TextIndexes articles in the diverse subject areas of the humanities
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndexes millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- MLA BibliographyInternational bibliography of language, literature, and drama, indexeing books, journals, and dissertations in these fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
Review Indexes and Bibliographies
- American Literary and Drama ReviewsIndexes reviews in late 19th-century periodicals. Shelved in Boatwright's first-floor Reference section (PN2256 .M37 1984)
- Broadway in the West EndIndexes reviews of American theatre in London, 1950-1975. Shevled in Boatwright's first-floor reference section (PN2596.L6 A1 1978).
Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes
Useful for finding reviews of performances.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
Online Theatre Reviews
- Aisle SayInformal, chatty reviews
- New York Theatre WireA non-scholarly guide to what's playing on New York's stages. Includes reviews
My Profile
Linda Fairtile
Contact:
Parsons Music Library
Modlin Center for the Arts
University of Richmond, VA 23173
Modlin Center for the Arts
University of Richmond, VA 23173
804 287-6849
