Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Reading Call Numbers
Encyclopedias of Food, Agriculture, and Environment
- Access Science This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of comprehensive encyclopedia entries covering all major science disciplines. This database also includes definitions of scientific terms, biographies of well-known scientists, a few textbooks, and Schaum's Outlines. (McGraw-Hill)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics by Call Number: Basement Level 2 (B2) ; GE42 .O84 2017ISBN: 9780199941339Publication Date: 2016-11-22
The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society by ISBN: 9780199566600Publication Date: 2011-10-15
The Cambridge World History of Food by ISBN: 9780521402149Publication Date: 1999-07-01Vol. 1. Covers specific foods and food groups.
The Cambridge World History of Food by ISBN: 9780521402156Publication Date: 1999-07-01Vol. 2. Covers food cultures and dietary information.
Finding Books in Boatwright Library
To search for books in Boatwright, use the Books and More tab in OneSearch. If you doing a keyword search, it is usually better to use at least two words, for example: food dictionaries or agriculture and ecology.
If you are looking for books by a writer, use the Author search.
If you want books about an author, use the Subject search and look at the top of the page for a link to an exact subject heading.
Most books by and about an author are shelved together, so once you have a few call numbers, you can browse.
Remember that books are generally on broad topics and that in print books you are not searching the full text, only the titles, subject headings, and--if you're lucky--the table of contents. For narrower topics and the most recent research on a subject, search for journal articles in a journal database such as Academic Search Complete, or one of the others listed on the "Journal Articles" page of this guide. If you want to search the contents of our electronic books, you can do that in OneSearch.