Searching in the Library Catalog
The Books & More tab (also linked below) on the library homepage accesses our book and film collections in the library.
- If you are looking for books by an author, use the Author search (last name first).
- If you want books about an author, use the Subject Heading Browse search (last name first).
Most books by and about an author are shelved together, so once you have a few call numbers, you can browse.
If you're looking for a particular short story or an essay, a KEYWORD search works best. It may be in an anthology, far away from other books by or about its author.
Most works of literature written in English --as well as criticism, analysis, and interpretation about the literature will be in these areas:
- PE: English Language and Philology
- PN: General Literature (including creative writing and general anthologies)
- PR: British and Commonwealth Literature
- PS: American Literature
- PZ: Children's Literature
Instruction Video ~ Literary Research & Criticism
Click on the Library Research: Module 2 widget on the left. This tutorial module provides you with information on how to use the databases and research guides to get started with your research. To view the tutorial full-screen, click here.
Books @ Boatwright | Literary Criticism & Theory
Literary Criticism and Theory by Call Number: PN86 .G684 2014
Collections & Anthologies
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowAccess stories produced by authors from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. Find fables, parables, ballads, folk tales, short story cycles, and novellas - each piece of content has fewer than 10,000 words. (ProQuest)
- Short Story Index This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of short stories published in collections and anthologies. This link includes both the retrospective database from 1915-1983 and the current content. (EBSCO)
- Essay & General Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for essays, articles, and miscellaneous works in anthologies and collections that were published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada on topics in the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
Finding Literary Criticism
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new windowAccess biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. (Gale)
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new windowAccess critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. (Gale)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Short Story Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowSearch for literary criticism on short stories. (Gale)
Reference Sources | Literary Theory, Criticism, and Biographies
- Cambridge Companions Online: Literature and Classics This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays on major authors, time periods, and literary genres. (Cambridge)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowLimit to Literature for reference books, including dictionaries and handbooks on literary theory, criticism, writers, and their works.
