Finding Articles
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. (ProQuest)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Use these databases to find high-level summaries and overviews of a wide range of topics, including education
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Data & Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCreate reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics in this yearly publication that illuminate the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data covers the years 1878-2012 and has been compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (ProQuest)
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)