Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Some Useful Collections
The Sorcerer's Apprentice by ISBN: 9780691172651Publication Date: 2017-04-04A diverse new anthology that traces the meaning and magic of the sorcerer's apprentice tale throughout history
The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PR1309.F26 O9 1993ISBN: 0192142186Publication Date: 1993-07-01The stories of magic and transformation that we call fairy tales are among the oldest known forms of literature, and many the most popular. "Jack and the Beanstalk," "Sleeping Beauty," "Little Red Ridinghood"--these ageless tales seem to have been written an almost magically long time ago. In The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales, Alison Lurie has collected forty tales that date from the late nineteenth century up to the present.
The great fairy tale tradition : from Straparola and Basile to the Brothers Grimm by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PN6071.F15 G74 2001Publication Date: 2001The tales--116 in all--are thematically grouped. Each grouping is introduced and annotated by Jack Zipes, the genre's reigning expert. Twenty illustrations accompany the texts.
Women Writing Wonder by ISBN: 9780814345023Publication Date: 2021-10-05texts written by nineteenth-century British, French, and German women authors who used the genre of the fairy tale to address issues such as class, race, and female agency.
Once upon a Time: New Fairy Tales by Call Number: irculating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PN6071.F15 O53 2013ISBN: 9781607014041Publication Date: 2013-10-15Eighteen extraordinary authors devise all-new fairy tales: imaginative reinterpretations of the familiar, evocative new myths, speculations beyond the traditional realm of "once upon a time."
Talk That Talk by Call Number: 9780671671686ISBN: 9780671671686Publication Date: 1989-11-15A compilation of tales from Afro-American folklore by storytellers such as Zora Neale Hurston, Nikki Giovanni, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Maya Angelou.
The Fairest of Them All by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; GR75.S6 T37 2020ISBN: 9780674238602Publication Date: 2020-04-07Maria Tatar, an acclaimed folklorist and translator, brings to life a global melodrama of mother-daughter rivalries that play out across countries and cultures.
Favorite Folktales from Around the World by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; GR76 .F38 1986ISBN: 0394543823Publication Date: 1986-10-12This collection of 160 tales represents such diverse stories as American Indian legends and others from the Brothers Grimm.- Index to fairy tales,Call Number: GR550.A14 I732We have six volumes of this index, which lists stories representing different fairy tale themes and motifs appearing in books over a period of many decades. Indexes are organized by theme with a key to the relevant collection.
The Classic Fairy Tales by Call Number: irculating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; GR550 .O6 1980ISBN: 0195202198Publication Date: 1980-11-13This volume contains twenty-four of the best known fairy tales in the English language, presented here in the exact words of their first English publication or of the earliest surviving text.
Beauties, Beasts and Enchantment by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PQ1278 .B39 1989ISBN: 0453006930Publication Date: 1989-10-26A collection of French fairy tales originally written in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
A Wild Swan by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; PS3553.U484 A6 2015ISBN: 9780374290252Publication Date: 2015-11-10Reimagined by one of the most gifted storytellers of his generation, and exquisitely illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, rarely have our bedtime stories been this dark, this perverse, or this true.
- List of fairy talesKeeping track of lists is one of the things for which Wikipedia is justly prized.
- Fairy tale parodyAnother Wikipedia list
You can find a list of adaptations of fairy tales in Books and More with the phrase "Fairy tale adaptations" as a Subject search
Encyclopedias
Articles in encyclopedias, especially scholarly subject encyclopedias, can be very helpful in establishing basic information about a person, place, event, or theory and they often have bibliographies that list additional resources worth consulting.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays that provide an introduction to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include Africana studies, anthropology, classical studies, English and literature, music, philosophy, and religious studies. (Cambridge)
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by ISBN: 1316623327Publication Date: 2017-05-27This is an expansion of the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than on 'universal' psychological archetypes or myths. It explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold) and gives thousands of cross-references and quotations. The dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures.
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; BL303 .M45 2004ISBN: 0816010498Publication Date: 1988-11-01Identifies heros, gods, goddesses, demons, giants, monsters, animals, objects and places featured in the world's mythologies.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by ISBN: 1281203637Publication Date: 2007-01-01This massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales by ISBN: 0199689822Publication Date: 2015-11-01In over 1,000 entries, this acclaimed Companion covers all aspects of the Western fairy tale tradition, from medieval to modern.
Companion to Literary Myths by Call Number: Reference - First Floor ; PN56.M95 D4813 1992ISBN: 0415064600Publication Date: 1992-12-01These essays explore the nature and influence of myth and mythic figures in the context of literature. Alphabetically organized, there are four main categories, the cosmos, psyche, society and history/politics. Entries include legendary places, historical heroes and also non-European myths.
Encyclopedia of the Modern World by ISBN: 9780195341126Publication Date: 2008-01-01Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
Europe, 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world by Publication Date: 2003This detailed set explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Search for concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. These short books are written by experts in the field and cover everything from Vatican II to the Civil Rights Movement to Medical Ethics. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (Oxford)