Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to film, film theory, film history, and film criticism. The database also contains "Treasures from the Film Archives," which has a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world. (ProQuest)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to psychology, including emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and more. (EBSCO)
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
If We Don't Have What You Need
Interlibrary Loan
Boatwright Library will obtain items not owned by campus libraries for current UR faculty, students and staff. If you're unsure if the item is available on campus, you can check using the UR Library Catalog. Boatwright Library uses ILLiad to facilitate ILL requests.
How to place a request:
- Visit the UR Library Catalog to verify we don't own it.
- Login to ILLiad
- Choose Book Request, Article Request or Other Request from the left-hand menu
- Enter the information about the item
- Click Submit Request
Encyclopedias
Articles in encyclopedias, especially scholarly subject encyclopedias, can be very helpful in establishing basic information about a person, place, event, or theory and they often have bibliographies that list additional resources worth consulting.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays that provide an introduction to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include Africana studies, anthropology, classical studies, English and literature, music, philosophy, and religious studies. (Cambridge)
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Search for concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. These short books are written by experts in the field and cover everything from Vatican II to the Civil Rights Movement to Medical Ethics. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (Oxford)
Film Reviews on the Web
- Movie Review Query EngineEasy way to find reviews of films that have played in the U.S.