Books About Zines
Stolen Sharpie Revolution by
Considered the definitive guide to zine history and production since 2002, now in its 6th edition. It contains information about zines and zine culture, zine distros, and detailed information on how to make your own zines, as well as get them out into the world.
Call Number: Z285.5 W73 2020ISBN: 9781945509452Publication Date: 2020-03-02
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by
Introduces readers to zines and mini-comics, touching on zine history, and guiding readers through the zine-making process, from idea-generating to crafting a finished, hand-made zine.
Call Number: Z286.Z54 T63 2006ISBN: 9780618563159Publication Date: 2006-06-26
Girl Zines by
Showcases zines created by women and girls and centers them in the context of social activism in third-wave feminism. It analyzes the beginning of the Riot Grrrl-based zine movement and elevates the voices of these creators exploring race, sexuality, identity, and revolutionary grrrl power within their zines.
Call Number: PN4836 .P54 2009ISBN: 9780814767511Publication Date: 2009-11-18
The Riot Grrrl Collection by
Reproduces a sampling of the original zines, posters, and printed matter for the first time since their initial distribution in the 1980s and ’90s, and includes an original essay by Johanna Fateman and an introduction by Lisa Darms. Contains scans of Riot Grrrl zines collected by New York University's Fales Library.
ISBN: 9781558618220Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Making Feminist Media by
Provides new ways of thinking about the vibrant media and craft cultures generated by Riot Grrrl and feminism’s third wave. It focuses on a cluster of feminist publications―including BUST, Bitch, HUES, Venus Zine, and Rockrgrl―that began as zines in the 1990s. By tracking their successes and failures, this book provides insight into the politics of feminism’s recent past.
Call Number: HQ1101 .G76 2016ISBN: 9781771121200Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Richmond Independent Press by
Chronicles Richmond’s underground zine scene from its first underground newspaper in 1967 through the rise in alternative Richmond media lasting into the 1990s and beyond.
Call Number: PN4899.R54 B78 2013ISBN: 9781609498399Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Articles About Zines
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles about zines, zine libraries, zine culture, and zine history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles about zines, primarily focused within the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Online Zine Resources
- Zinelibraries.infoThe zine libraries interest group is a collective of people interested in all aspects of zine libraries. ZineLibraries.info was created in 2007 to share resources regarding collections, programming, preservation, and the promotion of zine collections.
- The Book of ZinesThis website provides links to zine archives and zine libraries, in addition to Information on copyright, distribution, online catalogs, zine reviews, history, how-to guides, essays, articles, and much more.
Selected Journals
- Broken PencilA "mega-zine" dedicated to zine culture and the independent arts. Published four times a year, each issue of Broken Pencil features reviews of hundreds of zines and small press books, plus comics, excerpts from the best of the underground press, interviews, original fiction and commentary on all aspects of the indie arts.
- Zines JournalAn international peer-reviewed journal dedicated to studies of amateur and do-it-yourself media of any kind, from fanzines to webzines, perzines to science zines, artzines to poezines, etc.
