Economic & Democracy Indicators
- Eurostat - Statistical ThemesProduced by the statistical office of the European Union, the "Statistical Themes" page shows the various data categories available for researchers. Can access tabular, spatial, and historic data, with some presented as infographics and other visualization methods.
- EBRD Transition ReportsCreated by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the Transition Reports focus on "'big transitions', such as the shift towards sustainability, the reconfiguration of global supply chains, and the scramble for raw materials for the digital and green economies."
- Freedom House RatingsFreedom House is an independent watchdog organization that produces yearly country indicies on Freedom in the World, Freedom of the Press, Freedom on the Net, and others.
- Fragile States IndexData and reports from The Fund for Peace highlighting the normal pressures that all states experience and identifying when those pressures are pushing a state towards the brink of failure.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new windowExplore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- Varieties of Democracy V-DEM DatasetsDataset including indicators, indicies, and expert ratings on five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, covering 202 countries from 1789-2019.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window*Create an account to access this database. It contains current and historical datasets for US and international stock, currency and commodity pricing, interest and exchange rates, inflation, real estate, and other data points with daily, weekly, monthly and annual data available. (Global Financial Data)
- OECD Data This link opens in a new windowFind, compare, and share the latest OECD charts, maps, tables, and related publications. (OECD)
Public Opinion Data
- EurobarometerProvides reports of attitudes of European Union member countries' citizens.
- European Values StudyA large-scale, cross-national, repeated cross-sectional survey research program on basic human values.
- EBRD Life in Transition SurveySurveys carried out by the ERBD and the World Bank to understand people in transitional countries attitudes towards economics, politics and the role of government.
- Post-communist Countries BarometerProvides public opinion polls for Russia, Eastern Europe, South-Eastern Europe and Baltic Countries from the 1990s forward.
- World Values SurveyContains sets of surveys of people throughout the world capturing their beliefs and values.
- Inter-University Consortium For Political & Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window*Create an account to download the dataset files. In this database, find datasets of social, economic, and political research. Deposited data covers topic such as consumer behavior, the environment, social behavior, political behavior, government, conflict/war, education, healthcare, and more. Datasets are available as ASCII, SPSS, SAS, and Stata DTA files. (University of Michigan)
Migration Data
- United Nations Global Migration Data SetsAccessible datasets from the UN Population Division, including migration totals for each member country, and thematic sets on fertility, family makeup, household size, and more.
- UN International Migration: Data and PublicationsResources on international migration published by the UN's Population Division
Social Survey Data
- European Social Survey (ESS)Annual social survey data, since 2001, of 35 European countries and includes Russia and Turkey.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)