Finding Articles
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. (ProQuest)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
Browse Education Journals
- The links below come from the library's main Journal Search page
- These links will show specific education journals' available date range, if they're accessible online or physically on campus at UR, and if they're peer-reviewed:
Key Education Journals
- Teaching and Teacher Education
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1985 - present
- Review of Educational Research
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1931 - present
- Studies in Higher Education
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1976 - present (no full text for most recent 1 year and 3 months)
- Education Psychology Review
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1989 - present
- Education and Information Technologies
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1997 - present
- Learning and Instruction
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1991 - present
- American Educational Research Journal
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1964 - present
- Computers & Education
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1976 - present
Use these databases to find high-level summaries and overviews of a wide range of topics, including education
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSearch for literature reviews that capture current understandings of topics, including what is well-supported and what is controversial. These articles also set the topic in historical context, highlight the direction of future research, and outline the general significance of the research to society. Subjects are wide-ranging from the science to law to social sciences to politics. (Annual Reviews)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Data & Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Access business, consumer, and market data from a variety of sources, including Neilsen, Simmons, and the Census Bureau. Using this data, you can build reports, export data, and create maps. Choose "Sign in as a guest" or create a personal account in order to save your work. Note: Only 10 users may access this database at one time. (SimplyAnalytics)
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Using Basic Library Search Tools
Want more tutorials focused on discrete research skills? Want to review content from the library instruction session? Want to dive deeper into research concepts? Check out the full list of UR Library Tutorials here: https://libguides.richmond.edu/c.php?g=1405019&p=10399570