Business Librarian
Carrie Ludovico
Contact:
Business Librarian
(804) 287-6647
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing Sources, Copyright & Fair Use, Data & Statistics, Economics, First Year Seminar, Human Resources Management, International Business, Management, Marketing, Nonprofit Studies, Open Access & Faculty Scholarship, OSHER, PPEL, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Richmond Area , Scholarly Publications, Special Topics
Industry Classification
- Understanding NAICS CodesThis guide, from IBIS World, describes the purpose and uses of NAICS codes.
- NAICS Code changesThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), the primary classification system used to measure our evolving economy, was recently updated. This page explains the rationale behind and implications of those changes.
CAREER RESOURCES
Some other places to check for company information include the Annual Report (usually available on the company's "Investor Relations" website), their social media accounts such as Twitter, Instagram and/or Facebook, and sites such as LinkedIn or GlassDoor. Not sure if a company is private or public? Try D&B Hoover's to start.
Best Resources for Company Information
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowAccess public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for company information, such as financial statement data, annual reports, histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more. (LSEG - Mergent)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowAccess a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
- Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new windowAccess reports and analysis of stocks and mutual funds. This database evaluates and ranks the most investable stocks individually and by industry, as well as provides investment advice on the New York Stock Exchange. (Value Line)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new windowAccess in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
- Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new windowAccess data and research reports for US stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. (Morningstar, Inc.)
- Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess annual reports from US companies dating from 1844-2008. Find information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends. (ProQuest)
Private Company Information
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowFind data on non-publicly-traded corporations. Note: Click the "Direct Access" link to access the database. Create an account to save your searches. (PrivCo)
- Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on privately held and public companies and their executives. The content dates from 1959-present. (LSEG - Mergent)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new windowAccess in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
Key Business Ratios
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new windowSearch for industry ratios and norms for over 800 industries on public and private companies. Search on on SIC and NAICs code and line of business, and download and create reports. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)