LibGuides Menu
Welcome
Welcome to the UR subject guide for Mathematics! Use this guide to learn more about the library's rich resources in the mathematical sciences -- you can access books, databases, journals, and websites from this page.
I am the liaison librarian for Mathematics as well as many other science disciplines. Please contact me if you need any help with your research!
~ Melanie
Background Information & Key Reference Works in Mathematics
Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, definitions, and data. Encyclopedia articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics.
- AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
REF Q121 .M3 2007 - CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
REF QA5 .W45 1999 - CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
REF QA47 .M315 2003 - Encyclopedia of Mathematics
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
REF QA276.14 .E5 1982 - Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
REF QA .F35 1999 - Handbook of Mathematical Functions
QA47 .A34 1972 - Mathematically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
e-book and REF QA99 .M363 1998 - McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms *
REF Q123 .M34 2003 - Notable Mathematicians
REF QA28 .N66 1998 - Oxford Reference Online (The Consise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics & The Dictionary of Statistics)
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
REF Q121 .V3 2008
* Also available in Science Reading Room, Gottwald
Science Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geography, Mathematics, Physics |


Loading...
