Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Significance of the Virtue
Ethics, revised edition by Call Number: BJ63 .E54 2004Overview of particular virtues and ethical issues, covering traditional issues as well as more recent ethical issues & arguments.
Greek thought : a guide to classical knowledgeCall Number: DF78 .S2813 2000Information on ancient Greek philosophy, attitude towards learning & politics and covers the major philosophers.
New dictionary of the history of ideas by Call Number: CB9 .N49 2005Covers the historical development of philosophy, religion, politics, literature and science. Primarily covers Western Thought, but includes non-Western ideas.
What is an Epideictic Speech?
Epideictic speech is the ceremonial form of speech used to either praise or blame a person, an idea or an aspect of society such as cultural values or norms. This type of speech is meant to persuade the audience to agree with your argument by developing a sense of identification with the audience while giving the group a sense of inspiration.
Meaning of the Word
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLook up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
- English language dictionariesThese resources focus on definitions and meanings of words and concepts. Available in Boatwright Reference, call number PE 1628.
- English language thesauriThese resources provide synonyms and antonyms of words and concepts. Available in Boatwright Reference, call number PE 1591.
Significance of the Virtue
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
