Contact Us:
LibGuides Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Searching the UR Catalog for Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Search for encyclopedias or dictionaries in your subject area -- search for SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS or SUBJECT DICTIONARIES. Add ELECTRONIC for online copies.
-
Encyclopedias (Background Sources)Reference Encyclopedias and Background Sources through the library catalog -- add a SUBJECT word to narrow your search.
-
DictionariesDictionaries are available in print and electronically through the library catalog -- add a SUBJECT word to narrow your search.
Encyclopedias
-
eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
-
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of comprehensive encyclopedia entries covering all major science disciplines. This database also includes definitions of scientific terms, biographies of well-known scientists, a few textbooks, and Schaum's Outlines. (McGraw-Hill)
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
-
WikipediaA starting place for general or background information. Use as a jumping off point for your research to find out general information about a topic, rather than as a definitive research source.