Covers all public policy issues, drawing its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of major current topics and policy decisions within the United States.
Covering such topics as: social programs, health, social trends, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and background information are included in each report.; Full-text reports; charts; 1923 - present
Repository of scholarly papers and abstracts in the social sciences
Repository of working papers and submitted abstracts intended for early distribution of research results in social science disciplines.; Abstracts with some full-text; Varies; Most of the full-text papers can be downloaded for free. Those with $ signs should be checked for availability in Journal Locator.
Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science
Full-text; Additional Information: Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Index to journal articles and other research literature in sociology and related fields
International index of journal articles, dissertations, books, book chapters and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences.; Citations and abstracts (1974 - present); 1952 - present
Journal articles and other research literature in psychology and related disciplines
International index to journal articles, book chapters and books, dissertations and technical reports related to all areas of psychology and related disciplines.; Citations, abstracts, and some linked full-text; 1806 - present; very few records prior to 1890
An easy-to-use resource for current and historical United States Census data and demographic information.
Create reports and maps of the U.S. population for a variety of geographic levels, on topics such as race, sex, age, education, and many more. Social Explorer provides access to data from all Censuses from 1790-present and the American Community Survey, plus additional data on religious congregations. To save your maps and to use all of the database's tools and features, you will need to create a free account.; Web-based maps & downloadable statistics; Varies, 1790 - present
Mapping application for developing interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables
A web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.; User-generated maps & reports; Most recent census & previous year market data; Requires each user to create a personal workspace in order to use this resource.