SOC 315: Making America's War (Payne)

Search for literature reviews that capture current understandings of topics, including what is well-supported and what is controversial. These articles also set the topic in historical context, highlight the direction of future research, and outline the general significance of the research to society. Subjects are wide-ranging from the science to law to social sciences to politics. (Annual Reviews)

Access CRS reports from 2004-present. (Please note the menu in the database itself does not accurately list the years we have purchased.) These reports were established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan, objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. (ProQuest)

Search this database of grey literature that includes millions of reports, blogs, papers, and podcasts from thousands of think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, research agencies, cities, and governments. (Coherent Digital)

Search for information on public policy issues from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. (ProQuest)

Search for Congressional hearings, reports, testimony, bills, laws, and regulations from the first Congress to the current Congress. (ProQuest)

Search for ebooks, journal articles, policy briefs, reports, and case studies on topics related to international politics and policy. The content is written by scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and think-tanks. (Columbia University Press)

Access official UN documents and selected UN maps, as well as speech and voting records. (United Nations)

Search for reports and working papers published by the World Bank on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. (World Bank)

Access CRS reports from 2004-present. (Please note the menu in the database itself does not accurately list the years we have purchased.) These reports were established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan, objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. (ProQuest)

Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)

Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)

Search a wide variety of primary source documents from the Civil War period, including newspapers, Congressional documents, broadsides and ephemera. (Newsbank/Readex)

Access this database to find formerly classified documents (most at Top Secret level) that showcase the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War. (Brill)

Search primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)

Search for primary source documents on plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Documentation offers a record of the response of governments to various crises and shifts in policy; a chronicling of the aid work undertaken by NGOs and charities seeking to provide relief and aid in resettlement; and a recognition through individual narratives of the daily reality of the refugee experience. (Gale)

Search for primary source documents that illuminate the broad scope of British women's activities during World War I. The database includes materials from the Imperial War Museum in London, such as charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations, and interpretative essays from leading scholars. (Gale)