Humanities & Film Librarian
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
JOUR 304: Learning Richmond and Our Nation (Palmer)
Library Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Conduct genealogical research through this database. Most content is from the United States and the UK and includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records. Note: The "Library Edition" does not contain all of the content found in a personal Ancestry.com subscription. (ProQuest)
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Access archival finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world. (OCLC)
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSearch this open access database for journals and ebooks - only items in the public domain can be viewed in full-text online. Login to the website to download and save any of this public domain content. HathiTrust is a nonprofit organization that provides long-term digital preservation of scholarly content housed in academic libraries around the world. (HathiTrust)
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Search a library of millions of free books, movies, software, and music. (Internet Archive)
Web Sources
- Virginia Untold: The African American NarrativeDigital access to records that document some of the lived experiences of enslaved and free Black and multiracial people in the Library of Virginia’s collections.