Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
German 321: Introduction to German Literature
Finding Background Information
These sources are useful for finding useful biographical, historical, and theoretical background to help you put more specific books and articles in context.
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- Encyclopedia of German literatureThis is a print resource on the first floor of the library.
- The Oxford companion to German literatureThis is a print resource on the first floor of the library.
- Deutsche Literatur des 19. Jahrhunderts (1830-1895)Print Resource.
Finding Books and Articles
The first place to check for books on your topic is the Library Catalog. Here are some quick tips for effective catalog searches:
If you are looking for books by a writer, use the Author search.
If you want books about an author, use the Subject Heading search.
Here are some other useful subject searches:
Realism in literature.
Germany > Intellectual life > 19th century.
German literature > 19th century > History and criticism.
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Titles to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
- Library CatalogThis is where you will go to locate books, documents, and audio-visual materials owned by the libraries at the University of Richmond.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
Other Books
You can identify books not available in Boatwright by using WorldCat. the books can usually borrwed through the interlibrary loan system.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Google BooksSearches over 7 million books and full-text magazines are also included. It can be searched just like Google Search. Use Google Advanced search to limit results and find specific facts and information. Book titles also link to libraries and bookstores.