Subject Guide
(804)-289-8262
Refectory, Room #143 (during Boatwright Library construction)
Basic Library Tools
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
Journal TitlesList of journal TITLES -- if we subscribe to it, how to access it (in print or online), and what years are available.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
FYS 100 (24) - Education and Society (Shields)
Education Databases
Use these resources to find scholarly and professional articles from education journals.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
-
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
Education Trade Publications
-
Educational LeadershipArticles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
-
Education WeekEducation Week is an award-winning independent news organization that has covered K-12 education since 1981. It is known for providing both news and analysis, along with explanatory and investigative journalism.
-
NEA TodayNEA provides the latest education news and tells the stories of the educators making our public schools work. Learn more about our activism on key issues facing our 3 million members, and hear what those members have to say about the current events that affect them.
What is a Database?
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
Education and Equity Sources
-
Edutopia - Education and EquityHow can we ensure all students have equal access to opportunities, support, and the tools they need to succeed? Explore and share proven ways to make this happen.
-
Teaching for ChangeBy drawing direct connections to real world issues, Teaching for Change encourages teachers and students to question and re-think the world inside and outside their classrooms, build a more equitable, multicultural society, and become active global citizens. Our professional development, publications, and parent organizing programs serve teachers, other school staff, and parents. Our main focus is national and we have dedicated programs in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area.