Humanities & Film Librarian
Nick Dease
He/Him/His
Contact:
Boatwright Library, Rm. 185
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8453
Streaming Video Resources in the Library
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowStream numerous documentary and social issue films from a variety of companies, including Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. (Docuseek)
- EAI Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
Access a comprehensive video art collection from the mid-1960s to the present. EAI is a nonprofit arts organization that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution, and preservation of video art and digital art projects. (EAI)
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowAccess a collection of hundreds of popular, feature films that can be streamed online. (Infobase)
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess documentaries and other educational videos from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. (Infobase)
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowSearch this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
- PBS Videos This link opens in a new windowStream videos originally broadcast on PBS, including several of Ken Burns' series such as American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. (VIVA)
- Platino Educa This link opens in a new windowStream hundreds of Spanish-language films (with the option for English subtitles) from Spain and Latin America. The films cover a broad range of subjects, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and sociology. (Platino Educa)
- Projectr EDU This link opens in a new windowStream independent, foreign, and documentary films from a variety of distributors. (Projectr EDU)
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStream new and classic Hollywood films, documentaries, and TV series from major studios. The videos in this database are requested by professor for specific course and licensed for a limited time. (Swank)
Free & Legal Streaming Video Resources on the Web
- MovieclipsProvides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social media and used in PowerPoint presentations. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.
- UbuWeb: Film & VideoA resource for avant-garde and experimental media with an extensive film and video collection.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive's moving image collection provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by users, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, and ephemeral films from the Prelinger Archive.
- FolkstreamsA large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
- Media Burn ArchiveThe Media Burn Archive features a collection of documentary video and television created by artists, activists, and community groups.
- National Film Board of CanadaThe National Film Board of Canada is a Canadian government agency that produces and distributes documentary, animation, alternative drama and digital media productions. The NFB website provides information on over 13,000 National Film Board of Canada films, and includes free access to over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers, and interactive works for online screening.
Finding Movies in the Library Catalog
The library has an extensive collection of DVD's, Blu-rays, and VHS as well as numerous streaming video platforms. Here are some tips for searching for films in the catalog:
- Filter the results of your search by Video
- Search the catalog for specific titles. If you are searching for a film that has a non-English title, the title in the film's original language may appear first in the record.
- Search the catalog for contributors/creators. Films do not have just one "author" like books do. They have directors, actors, editors, producers- and filter the results.
- Search by language. Films are categorized by language, but take note that some films have multiple languages. For example- search the catalog for Motion pictures Japanese and filter the results.
- Search for films by country of production- the country of production does not just include a film's location- it includes the countries that financially produced the film as well. So, take this into consideration if you are just looking for films based in a certain place, or national cinemas. For example you can search for Motion pictures Germany, and then filter the results .
- Search for films by genre or form, for example Animated films, Western films, War films, Experimental films, Suspense films, Adventure films, Documentary films, Silent films.
- Streaming movies are added to the catalog every few months, so for the best results it helps to search the streaming video platform directly. See the links below.
- All DVD's, Blu-ray's and VHS are located in the library's media collection on the 2nd floor of Boatwright.