Nick Dease
He/Him/His
Contact:
Boatwright Library, Rm. 185
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8453
The Internet Archive
"This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. This collection is free and open for everyone to use. Our goal in digitizing these movies and putting them online is to provide easy access to a rich and fascinating core collection of archival films. By providing near-unrestricted access to these films, we hope to encourage widespread use of moving images in new contexts by people who might not have used them before." ~Internet Archive: Movie Archive
- Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive)"Provides near-unrestricted access to digitized collections of moving images. The largest collection is comprised of over 1,200 ephemeral (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present." ~Library of Congress
- The VHS Vault (Internet Archive)A wide collection of trailers, shows, recordings, and other captures on VHS tape.
- XFR Collective (Internet Archive)"a non-profit organization that partners with artists, activists, individuals, and groups to lower the barriers to preserving at-risk audiovisual media – especially unseen, unheard, or marginalized works – by providing low-cost digitization services and fostering a community of support for archiving and access through education, research, and cultural engagement."
- Feature Films (Internet Archive)Feature films, shorts, silent films and trailers are available for viewing and downloading.
- Educational Films (Internet Archive)"This collection features vintage educational films from a variety of sources. Films intended for educational purposes are an enormous, often neglected part of the twentieth century media landscape. Archived here are corporate and government sponsored films; classroom academic films instructing students in science and the humanities, and classroom guidance films on sex education, manners, and morality; military training films; medical films aimed at the public or at health practitioners; religious conversion films; and a host of others, too many to fully enumerate."
- News & Public Affairs (Internet Archive)"An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs."
- Television (Internet Archive)"Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more."
- Prelinger ArchivesPrelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 20,000 digitized titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 30,000 items held as of Fall 2023.
Public Domain Films
- National Archives Catalog (NARA)"NARA has an extensive collection of films created for and produced by the U.S. government that are in the public domain, including military films, educational and documentary films (1915-1976). NARA also has gift materials from private sources, such as Universal Newsreel releases and outtakes (1929-67). " ~ Library of Congress