It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Soc 320: Race, Class and Schooling (Richards): Home
The policy brief is a document which outlines the rationale for choosing a particular course of action in a current policy debate. It requires succinct consideration of policy options for a particular audience (e.g., officials, bureaucrats, politicians, development practitioners, donors). The purpose of a policy brief is to convince the target audience of the urgency of the current problem and to serve as an impetus for action. This means that the format will also be different from the typical research paper.
A starting point for research on education topics, each entry includes an overview, keyword list, and suggested reading.; Full-text; Articles reviewed and updated annually; In addition to original overview articles, this database also includes selected articles from academic journals.
Broad and current coverage of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education.
Content primarily consists of articles, but also includes some books and conference papers.; Abstracts with some full-text; Varies by title mostly mid-1990's to present with some content back to the 1930's
In-depth reports and background information on major current topics and policy issues.
Covering such topics as: social programs, health, social trends, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and background information are included in each report.; Full-text reports; charts; 1923 - present
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection of documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others.
Topics covered include history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, womens studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Tools are available to make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created.; Streaming video
Covers all public policy issues, drawing its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank.
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Archive of public opinion polls from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, with datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms since 1935, on topics such as social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment. Accounts created before February 2020 are no longer valid; please register for a free account with your richmond.edu email address to download data.