Highlights
-
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published between 1740-1940 in special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Topic covered include history, law, politics, religion, education, art, and more. (ProQuest)
-
BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Current Digest of the Russian Press Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles translated into English from Russian-language press materials. Published continuously since 1949, this journal draws from a broad spectrum of sources from pro-government to moderate to fiercely oppositionist. The translations are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or commentary, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not the publishers of the journal. (East View)
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new window
Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)
U.S. Archival Materials
-
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from a collection of periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society that documents the life of people in the United States from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Note: The series included in this collection are Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877). (EBSCO)
-
African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
Search an archive of thousands of fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of thousands of printed works from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, and employment. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents (mostly manuscripts) that illuminate American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
-
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published between 1740-1940 in special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Topic covered include history, law, politics, religion, education, art, and more. (ProQuest)
-
American West This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents on the westward expansion of the United States. Topics covered include exploration by early pioneers, the Gold Rush, evolution of Western towns, the growth of the railroad, agricultural transformation, Texas/Mexico history, and Native American history and culture. (AM)
-
Daily Worker Online (1922-1968) This link opens in a new window
Access the archives of the official newspaper for the Communist Party of the United States of America (CPUSA). (Brill)
-
Education Magazine Archive, 1910-2015 This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th-21st centuries. These titles were originally aimed at teachers, administrators, and other education professionals. Now, they offer insight into the history of education, theory, and trends. (ProQuest)
-
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that offer insights into the daily lives of women during the 19th and early 20th centuries. This database contains books, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides that address political, social, and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. (AM)
-
HarpWeek, 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the Harper's Weekly magazine covering the the pre-Civil War through pre-World War I periods in American history. (Alexander Street Press)
-
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents covering the political, social, and cultural history of North American indigenous peoples from the sixteenth century until the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. (Gale)
-
JSTOR Open CollectionsIncludes over 1680 digital collections of "images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world."
-
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published in Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody, which focused on the daily life, interests, and values of middle America. The magazine presented Information in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion-picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. (Gale)
-
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on topics related to music and youth culture. Documents include photographs, ephemera, memorabilia, pamphlets, zines, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period. (AM)
-
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
-
Witchcraft in Europe and America This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on the prosecution of witchcraft from the 15th century to the early 20th century. Documents include anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, philosophical writings, and transcripts of trials and exorcisms. (Gale)
-
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
International Archival Materials
-
19th Century Collections Online: Women and Transnational Networks This link opens in a new windowSearch primary source documents that focus on issues at the intersection of gender and class -- from the late eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early twentieth century -- through a European and North American perspective. (Gale)
-
BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 This link opens in a new window
Find primary source material covering the rapid revolution of the justice and penal system during the nineteenth century, as well as the rise of sensationalism around crimes and criminals that captured the public's imagination. On one end of the spectrum, you will find trial transcripts, court proceedings, and the development of the police and forensic techniques; on the other end, you will also find popular fiction and detective novels; and bridging the two are newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera. (Gale)
-
Current Digest of the Russian Press Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles translated into English from Russian-language press materials. Published continuously since 1949, this journal draws from a broad spectrum of sources from pro-government to moderate to fiercely oppositionist. The translations are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or commentary, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not the publishers of the journal. (East View)
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new window
Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)
-
Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Documentation offers a record of the response of governments to various crises and shifts in policy; a chronicling of the aid work undertaken by NGOs and charities seeking to provide relief and aid in resettlement; and a recognition through individual narratives of the daily reality of the refugee experience. (Gale)
-
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents that illuminate the broad scope of British women's activities during World War I. The database includes materials from the Imperial War Museum in London, such as charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations, and interpretative essays from leading scholars. (Gale)