Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles that cover the history of fine, decorative and commercial art. (EBSCO)
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the arts and humanities. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in this open access database maintained by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). The content covers subjects that range from biomedicine and health fields to related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. (US Government)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. (ProQuest)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search across Biological Abstracts, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, PQ Dissertations and Theses, Web of Science Core (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), and Zoological Record. Track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
*Create an account to access this database. Search for journal articles, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author. (American Chemical Society)
Browse Related Journals
- The links below come from the library's main Journal Search page
- These links will show specific education journals' available date range, if they're accessible online or physically on campus at UR, and if they're peer-reviewed:
Key Research Journals
- Neuroscience
- Acta Neuropathologica
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1997 - present
- Annals of Neurology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1977 - present
- Behavioral and Brain Sciences
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1978-1996; 1997 - present
- Brain, Behavior, & Immunity
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1995 - present
- Nature Human Behavior
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 2017 - present
- Nature Neuroscience
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1998 - present
- Acta Neuropathologica
- Photography
- American Art
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1991 - present
- Imaging Science Journal
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1999 - present (no full-text for most recent year)
- International Journal of the Image
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 2011 - present
- Journal of Visual Art Practice
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 2001 - present
- American Art
- PerplexityA resource discovery tool that uses gen. AI principles to enhance internet searches. It can provide links to web articles and freely available scholarly articles as citations in its responses to user prompts. Runs on OpenAI's GPT-3.5 and 4 LLM.
- Research RabbitTool designed to supplement resource discovery for literature reviews. Users can upload a single paper (called a "seed paper") and then find topically related articles and those connected via citations.
Notes regarding the content on this page:
- Due to the speed with which generative AI tools proliferate, this is not a comprehensive list of all generative AI tools related to research, nor is it designed to be. It is simply to provide information about relevant generative AI tools for this FYS course.
- Additionally, the tools listed here can be used in more situations than just the top-line descriptors. Take time to learn what these tools do well, and just as importantly, what they don't do well.
- UR does not currently offer an institutional subscription to paid versions of any generative AI tools, and the content in this guide does not represent an endorsement of any tool by UR.
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)