Carol Wittig
Contact:
FYS and SPCS Instructor
Office: Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library,
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Office: Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library,
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804.289.8459
Website
2018-19 OneBook | When They Call You a Terrorist by Patrisse Khan-Cullers
Youtube: When They Call You a Terrorist: The Life of Black Lives Matter Co-founder Patrisse Khan-Cullers. Democracy Now! Published on Jan 16, 2018
NPR: Labeled A 'Terrorist,' A Black Lives Matter Founder Writes Her Record
Databases for Social Justice
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents (mostly manuscripts) that illuminate American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Economist. Find editorials, news, and commentary that offer insight into British, European, American, and world affairs. (Gale)
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from law journals on topics related to current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. (EBSCO)
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
Databases for Social Sciences
- CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Access the CQ Almanac volumes published between 1945-present. These ebooks offer original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Browse by topic or track policy changes through the years. (Sage)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowAccess articles from a magazine that delivers nonpartisan news and analysis on the work of Congress. This database contains content from 1983-present. (Sage)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)