RHCS 343: Rhetoric and Politics: Writing and Citing

• OWL @ Purdue: Chicago Formatting and Style Guide
• EasyBib Chicago Quick Guide
• • FOOTNOTES in Chicago -- EasyBib Quick Guide

• Turabian Quick Guide - Overview of basic examples from Univ. of Chicago Press website for Turabian 8th edition. Turabian is essentially the same as Chicago, with minor modifications to meet student writing needs.

* * * *

 There are 2 styles to choose from when using Chicago -- you need to ask your professor which style they would like you to use. The main differences between the styles are where the references are placed, where the dates are placed, and how the titles are capitalized.

1. Notes/Bibliography - Humanities: numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. Your professor may not require that you include a separate Works Cited list if all of the information is included in your footnotes -- but you may be asked to provide a bibliography of all sources consulted.

2. Reference List/Parenthetical (in-text citations) - Author/Date: in your text, brief references are listed consisting of the author's last name, publication year, and page(s) referred to, with an alphabetized Reference List at the end of your paper.  The reference list at the end of your paper provides complete entries for works cited in parenthetical references.

• University of Richmond Honor Council & the UR Honor Code
  The UR Honor Council maintains the University's Honor Code used in order to maintain high standards of academic integrity. This website provides information on the Honor Code Pledge students are required to acknowledge for assignments.
• The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
  Resources for all things writing and citing in APA and MLA.
• Writing Center - The University of Richmond
  The Writing Center provides experienced tutors who offer friendly critiques for written work in any major.
• Writer's Web - The University of Richmond - Writing Center
  Writer's Web is a free, public-access handbook that covers help and information for all stages of the writing process.
• Citation Guides for Government Documents
  Links to various websites for help with citing government documents and publications.

lynda.com provides unlimited access to an online library of high-quality instructional videos on the latest software tools and skills.

With more than 1,300 courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever you’re ready to learn. You can even view the resources on your iOS or Android mobile device (via web site or mobile apps).

Current faculty, students, and staff have access to a University subscription of lynda.com resources.  Please click the Access lynda.com link.  You will then get a UR login page for lynda.com — use your UR NetID and 16-character password before being redirected to lynda.com's web site.  If it is your first time logging in through UR, you will be asked whether you want to migrate the training activity records from another lynda.com account that you may have had in the past to your new UR lynda.com account.  After choosing a response, you should then have direct access to lynda.com training materials.

Access lynda.com