Skip to Main Content
Streaming Video resources
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Search this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Stream documentaries, performances of various plays, and interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors. (Alexander Street Press)
Free & Legal Streaming Video Resources on the Web
Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social media and used in PowerPoint presentations. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.
UbuWeb: Film & Video
A resource for avant-garde and experimental media with an extensive film and video collection.
The Internet Archive's moving image collection provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by users, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, and ephemeral films from the Prelinger Archive.
A large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Media Burn Archive
The Media Burn Archive features a collection of documentary video and television created by artists, activists, and community groups.
National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada is a Canadian government agency that produces and distributes documentary, animation, alternative drama and digital media productions. The NFB website provides information on over 13,000 National Film Board of Canada films, and includes free access to over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers, and interactive works for online screening.
P.O.V. Video provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series P.O.V.
Provides access to full-length films and tv shows from a wide range of commercial and independent producers.
Free movies and TV shows from Sony Pictures.
Hollywood movies, documentaries, foreign films, unique original web series.
Free movies from Paramount Pictures and Starz
Subjects: American Studies
, Book Reviews
, Citing Sources
, Classical Studies
, English & Literature
, First Year Seminar
, International Education
, Language and Linguistics
, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies
, Master of Liberal Arts
, Primary Resources
, Reference Sources
, Rhetoric & Communication Studies
, Richmond Area
, Scholarly Publications
, Special Topics