It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 201U: Critical Writing & Research I (SPCS): Literary Criticism
Click on the Library Research: Module 2 widget on the left. This tutorial module provides you with information on how to use the databases and research guides to get started with your research. To view the tutorial full-screen, click here.
Searching in the Library Catalog
The Books & More tab (also linked below) on the library homepage accesses our book and film collections in the library.
If you are looking for books by an author, use the Author search (last name first).
If you want books about an author, use the Subject Heading Browse search (last name first).
Most books by and about an author are shelved together, so once you have a few call numbers, you can browse.
If you're looking for a particular short story or an essay, a KEYWORD search works best. It may be in an anthology, far away from other books by or about its author.
Most works of literature written in English --as well as criticism, analysis, and interpretation about the literature will be in these areas:
PE: English Language and Philology
PN: General Literature (including creative writing and general anthologies)
Index of short stories published in collections and anthologies
Subject access includes theme, locale, narrative technique or device (such as surprise endings, dialect stories, parodies, story-within-a-story) and genre. Also includes stories from over 150 of the periodicals indexed by Readers' Guide and Humanities Index.; Index; 1915-1983; Library holdings indicator, linked to catalog, shows whether collections/anthologies indexed are available at UR.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Provides access to original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world
Full-text; Additional Information: Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay, hyperlinks for cross-referencing, a citation, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Provides critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres
Full-text; Additional Information: Book length studies of nearly 600 authors feature a chronology, a biography, a comprehensive critical analysis, and an annotated bibliography. Comprises the contents of Twayne's Unites States Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Historical surveys of field's most important figures, schools, and movements. Also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory (e.g. Marx).; Full-text; Most recent edition
Limit to Literature for reference books, including dictionaries and handbooks on literary theory, criticism, writers, and their works.
Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present
An extensive guide to the lives of influential poets writing in English, in Britain and around the world, illuminating the influences, inspirations, and movements that have shaped their lives and works.