Skip to Main Content
Still Have Questions?
For further information on using images and copyright, contact Jeannine Keefer, Visual Resources Librarian.
Images Free for Scholarly Use
American Memory/Library of Congress
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
Free High Resolution Images from the Victoria and Albert Museum
The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is allowing scholars and individuals to use high resolution images free of charge for academic/scholarly publications, study and research and in student theses. See the link for full terms and conditions of use.
Free Publishable Images from the British Museum
Scholars are now able to use images free of charge for use in teaching, academic study and research. Follow this link to see full terms and conditions and how to register with the British Museum.
Images for Academic Publishing (IAP)
IAP currently offers 6,700 from The Metropolitan Museum of Art and 3,900 images from the Mellink Archive (Bryn Mawr College). These images are publication-quality and free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications. You can access them via ARTstor.
Getty Research Institut/J. Paul Getty Museum - Open Content Program
Images from the museum and research institute collections available for any use by anyone.
LUNAcommons.org is a free public resource for users to discover primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. Collections are from reputable sources for educational and public use.
National Portrait Gallery, London, UK
The UK National Portrait Gallery now provides free image downloads for academic and non-commercial use. See their website for more information.
NGA (U.S.) Images - High Resolution Downloads
More than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Public Domain Review
"The Public Domain Review aspires to become a bounteous gateway into the whopping plenitude that is the public domain, helping our readers to explore this rich terrain by surfacing unusual and obscure works, and offering fresh reflections and unfamiliar angles on material which is more well known."
The Rijksmuseum is offering its entire collection free to the public to use, to manipulate, and to create new work.
ARTstor Public Collections
"Artstor’s ever-growing public collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.."