Historical News Resources
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new window
Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
Current News Resources
- BBC World NewsPreeminent international news source, based in the UK.
- New York TimesMajor US newspaper covering both US and international news.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from news sources outside of the US and Canada, such as newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites. (ProQuest)
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Carol Wittig
Contact:
Rm. 119 Refectory (**during Boatwright Library renovation May 2025-August 2026**)
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
804.289.8459
Website