Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Useful Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Eudict: European DictionaryEUdict (European dictionary) is a collection of online dictionaries for the languages spoken in the European Community and the countries that will become members of European Community.
- Merriam-Webster's American DictionaryAlso has a thesaurus and a Spanish-English dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLook up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
Green's Dictionary of Slang (multi-Volume Set) by ISBN: 9780550104403Publication Date: 2011-02-14An example of the kinds of specialized dictionaries that translators frequently consult.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Literary Translation
- Translation and Literature.Translation and Literature is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal focusing on English Literature in its foreign relations
- Translation ReviewTranslation Review focuses on the theoretical, critical, practical, and cultural aspects of transplanting a literary text from one language into another
- Title Delos: A Journal of Translation and World LiteratureOffers a wide range of literature in translation from all over the world.
- Poetry Translation CentreThe Poetry Translation Centre gives the best contemporary poems from Africa, Asia and Latin America a new life in the English language, working with diaspora communities for whom poetry is of great importance.
- Words without BordersWords Without Borders expands cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
- International Journal of Literature, Linguistics and Translation StudiesJCLTS publishes papers on issues related to literature and translation, including:
Literary Studies
Comparative Literature
World Literature
Critical Theory
Cultural Studies
Literature and Media
Translation Studies
Interpreting Studies
Translation and Globalization
Literature in Translation
Translation in Literature
Interdisciplinary Approaches in Literature
How Fiction Writers Do Research
- The Writing process : researchstreaming video file (26 min.)
Translating Selves by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Level 2 (B2) ; P306.97.S63 T69 2008ISBN: 9780826499264Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Sources on Translation
These are books about the process of translation. For others, look up Translating
and interpreting in the Subject Heading Browse search mode.
Identifying Translations
These databases or websites will help you discover what texts have been translated. Idex Translatioum was created by UNESCO to encourage cultural exchange through translation.You can find translations from a particular language in Book Review Digest by using the name of the language and the word "translations" in your subject search. For Worldcat, use the same strategy, but add the target language (e.g. English) to your search terms.
- Index Translationum - World Bibliography of TranslationThe database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979 and totals more than 1.900,000 entries in all disciplines: literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth. It is planned to update the work every four months
- 3 Percent TranslationFree resource from Publisher's Weekly that can be downloaded going back to 2007 for works that have been translated into English.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)