Other Sources of Books
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Google BooksThese are digitized books. Most have only a limited portion of their text online, but the full text is searchable and you may find the full text in the UR Library catalog
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find what you're looking for in the UR Library catalog? Use the box below to search in WorldCat. You can request it from another library by clicking the "Request Item" button.
Encyclopedias
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
Using the Library Catalog
The first place to check for books on your topic is the UR Library Catalog. Here are some quick tips for effective catalog searches:
After doing a keyword search, look at the left side of the screen for options for focusing your search. The subjects listed should suggest several possible related topics.
Some useful terms and phrases are: Muslims Spain History; Islamic Spain; Spain History 711-1516, Spain Civilization 711-1516. Mexican-American border region; United States-Mexico border. (These also work well in the article databases)
If you are looking for a particular book, of which you already know the title, do a title search (instead of "all fields"). You will find the item you want more quickly.
If you are looking for books by a writer, use the Author search.
Most books about a subject are shelved together, so once you have a few call numbers, you can browse.
Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
