LibGuides: RHCS 295: Vision & Visuality in Rhetorical Criticism: Finding Images on the Web

Tools and Search Engines

This list provides links to the most common image search engines. Both Google Images and Tin Eye allow you to do a reverse image search by using the image rather than text to find similar or better images as well as more information.

TinEye
Tin Eye is a reverse images search engine whereby you search for images using images.
Google Images
Yahoo Images
Flickr Creative Commons

Citing Images

The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.

Citing Images - General
This site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
Citing ARTstor Images
This page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.

Art Museums with Searchable Online Collections

Some museums have images that are large enough to capture for use in presentation tools such as PowerPoint. Others have images which are large enough only for reference. Check the ARTstor collections for large museum images to use in presentations and papers. Below is merely a selected list of museums with images on-line.

Rijksmuseum Collection The Rijksmuseum is offering its entire collection free to the public to use, to manipulate, and to create new work.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Full-text Catalogues NOTE: Not all of the texts will have all images due to copyright restrictions.
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Boston Museum of Fine Arts
Musée du Louvre You can perform a simple search, advanced search, search by room, department and recent acquisitions. Knowledge of French is most useful for getting the most out of this database.
Uffizi Gallery, Florence This site is busy, but you can get basic information about works, where they are located in the museum, and small images.
British Museum
Victoria and Albert Museum
National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
NGA (U.S.) Images - High Resolution Downloads More than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
National Portrait Gallery, Washington, DC
National Gallery of Art, London, UK
National Portrait Gallery, London, UK The UK National Portrait Gallery now provides free image downloads for academic and non-commercial use. See their website for more information.
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Asian Art Museum, San Franciso, CA
Art Institute of Chicago
Cleveland Museum of Art
Museum of Modern Art, New York (MoMA)
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, TX
Modern Art Museum of Forth Worth
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
Walters Art Museum

General Images

Images from these sources wll be useful for a variety of disciplines.

ARTstor Public Collections "Artstor’s ever-growing public collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.."
Artsy "Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art...Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online."
Internet Archive Book Images
Over 2.6 million copyright free images.
Creative Commons You can choose to search images for commerical, educational, or private use. Some images, audio and video files are licensed to be altered to new works.
Getty Research Institut/J. Paul Getty Museum - Open Content Program Images from the museum and research institute collections available for any use by anyone.
American Memory/Library of Congress FSA: http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/fsac/
LUNacommons.org LUNAcommons.org is a free public resource for users to discover primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. Collections are from reputable sources for educational and public use.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Catalog of American Portraits Search more than 80,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP). NOTE: Many entries will not have an image due to copyright restrictions.
Flickr
Public Domain Review "The Public Domain Review aspires to become a bounteous gateway into the whopping plenitude that is the public domain, helping our readers to explore this rich terrain by surfacing unusual and obscure works, and offering fresh reflections and unfamiliar angles on material which is more well known."
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources "Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 340 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts. An invaluable tool for use in the classroom, educators can integrate printable activity guides and discussion questions related to each unit into their course work."
Digital New Zealand DigitalNZ is the search site for all things New Zealand. We connect you to reliable digital collections from our content partners, including: libraries museums galleries government departments the media community groups, and others. On DigitalNZ you can discover more than 30 million digital items from more than 200 organisations on any topic, all for free. You'll find: videos newspapers maps photographs audio artworks news reports
vads: the online resource for visual arts VADS is a searchable online resource with image collections covering fashion, textiles, architecture, design, posters, political cartoons, photography, sculpture, painting and more. The collections are UK centric as the resource was created for use by educators and students in the UK.
World Images The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
Wellcome Images Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
British Pathé YouTube channel Footage of major events in Britain and around the world from 1896-1976.

Film Studies

ARTstor
CineFiles from UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews,press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents form the PFA Library's extensive collection cover world cinema, past and present.
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.

Classics, Religion, Philosophy, Literature, & Education

Archive of Early American Images from Brown University Graphic representations of the colonial Americas (including maps), from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
ARTstor
Beyond the Taj Beyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
Billie Jean Isbell Andean Collection Images are derived from Professor Billie Jean Isbell's research in the Andes, primarily in the southern Andean department of Ayacucho and specifically in the village of Chuschi, Peru, and the surrounding region of the River Pampas Valley in the province of Cangallo.
Carolingian Culture at Reichenau & St. Gall "This website presents digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script. Both of these are complimented by various resources to assist in their study, providing further information about the material and intellectual contexts of Reichenau and St. Gall."
Catena - Historic Gardens and Landscape Archive Collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Historical map collection focused on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts "The DMMapp, or Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app, links to more 300+ digital libraries home to 20'000+ medieval manuscripts! It's easy to navigate and is constantly updated. It is based on our crowd-sourced data that you can contribute to!"
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
George Catlin: The Printed Works This collection contains images from the following Catlin titles: The Manners, Customs and Condition of the North American Indians. Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio; Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America; Adventures of the Ojibbeway and Ioway Indians of England, France, and Belgium; Being Notes of Eight Years Travels and Resdince in Europe with His North American Indian Collection
Hoover Institution Russian Poster Collection Russian political posters.
Inscriptions of Eleusis Collection of images of ancient inscriptions on stone from Eleusis, Greece, comprises documents of the Sanctuary of the Two Goddessess and the public documents of the deme that were set up within or in front of the Sanctuary, issued by the deme of Eleusis, or set up in the public sanctuaries of the deme.
Maps of Africa Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich at the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the 15th to early 20th century.
McKenney and Hall: History of the Indian Tribes Images from Hisotry of the Indian Tribes of North America, with Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes of the Principal Chief. Embellished with One Hundred and Twenty Portraits, from the Indian Gallery in the Department of War, at Washington.
South Asian Diaspora Literature and Arts Archive
The Huntington Archive "This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington unless otherwise noted."
Willard D. Straight in Korea: 1904-1905 Willard Straight worked in Korea as a Reuters correspondent during the Russo-Japanese War and as U.S. diplomat. He sketched Japanese and Russian soldiers and Korean people. Over 200 of his drawings, photographs, and postcards offer a rare example of western perspectives on Korea during the early 20th century.
World Images - Africa Africa starts with Ancient Africa then shows images of African people and of their diaspora around the world. The arts of Egypt and prehistoric North Africa are followed by Algera, Libya, Tunesia, Ethiopia , East , West and Central Africa.
World Images - Archaeological Sites and Modern Cities The portfolios in this section bring together materials from specific sites, including ancient archaeological sites and modern cities.
World Images - Asia This section contains images from all over Asia, from China, Central Asia, South Asia, South East Asia, India, Japan, Korea, Tibet, Nepal and the Philippines. In addition to art works there are images of Asians themselves and of their interactions with the west.
World Images - Daily Life and Material Culture
World Images - Europe European art and life starts with the Prehistoric and Ancient worlds, including the Greeks and Romans. It moves on to the Medieval period with Early Christian and Byzantine, Migration and Carolingian periods to Romanesque and Gothic art and architecture. Next the Renaissance in Italy and Northen Europe, the Baroque and Rococo styles focusing on Italy, Holland and France, and finally the 19th century, with an emphasis on the art styles of France.
World Images - Religion, Philosophy, Literature & Education Look here for ancient religions that are no longer extant as well historical images of those that are currently active around the world. Biblical images from the Old and New Testaments are included, as well as images illustrating literature, education and writing from the ancient to the modern periods.
World Images - The Americas The Americas contains portfolios from the Pre-Columbian period in Mesoamerica and the Andean area. Native American portfolios are divided into Paleo-Indian, Southwestern, PacificCoast and Alaskia, the Great Plains, Eastern and South Eastern images and representations of Native Americans. North American images are divided by century and media, with sections on both North American and Latin American history.
World Images - The Arts: Dance, Music, Theater & Visual Arts The arts are emphasized here: music, dance, and theater from around the world. Various aspects of the visual arts are included, grouped in non-chronological ways, for example artists portraits, artists on art, and women artists. Still lifes and landscapes are grouped together, as are photographs and graphic arts. Museum and gallery collections are shown here.
World Images - The Middle East European interpretations of Middle Easterns are contrasted to contemporary portraits. Then come images of ancient Mesopotamia, the 'land between the rivers' where civilization is thought to have started. Then we see Iran, the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, These are followed by sections on Jews and Judaism and Islamic art and culture.

Art, Art History, Architecture

accessCeramics
Architecture and Urban Planning Collection from University of Cincinnati Included in the collection are images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the United States.
Archive of Early American Images from Brown University Graphic representations of the colonial Americas (including maps), from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
ARTstor
Artsy "Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art...Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online."
Beyond the Taj Beyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
Billie Jean Isbell Andean Collection Images are derived from Professor Billie Jean Isbell's research in the Andes, primarily in the southern Andean department of Ayacucho and specifically in the village of Chuschi, Peru, and the surrounding region of the River Pampas Valley in the province of Cangallo.
Catalog of American Portraits Search more than 80,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP). NOTE: Many entries will not have an image due to copyright restrictions.
Carolingian Culture at Reichenau & St. Gall "This website presents digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script. Both of these are complimented by various resources to assist in their study, providing further information about the material and intellectual contexts of Reichenau and St. Gall."
Catena - Historic Gardens and Landscape Archive Collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.
Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum "This website represents Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s diverse collection, spanning thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design, including the world's coolest office, a large snail shell, snakes, a dragon and four bearded men, a cone propped up on a bench, a pair of colorful hands, a mysterious tv and a perpetual calendar."
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Historical map collection focused on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts "The DMMapp, or Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app, links to more 300+ digital libraries home to 20'000+ medieval manuscripts! It's easy to navigate and is constantly updated. It is based on our crowd-sourced data that you can contribute to!"
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
George Catlin: The Printed Works This collection contains images from the following Catlin titles: The Manners, Customs and Condition of the North American Indians. Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio; Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America; Adventures of the Ojibbeway and Ioway Indians of England, France, and Belgium; Being Notes of Eight Years Travels and Resdince in Europe with His North American Indian Collection
Gothic Past: Gothic Architecture and Sculpture in Ireland
Gothic Past is an open-access resource for the study of medieval Irish architecture and sculpture. It is part of a research project in the Department of History of Art and Architecture, Trinity College Dublin and is funded by the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences (IRCHSS)
Hoover Institution Russian Poster Collection Russian political posters.
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources "Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 340 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts. An invaluable tool for use in the classroom, educators can integrate printable activity guides and discussion questions related to each unit into their course work."
Jame J. Ross Archive of African Images, 1590-1920
RAAI contains approximately 5,000 illustrations of African art published before 1921.
Japanese Historical Maps from East Asian Library at UC Berkeley Maps from the Mitsui Library collection. Most date from the period before 1890 and are printed on handmade paper, a considerable number from woodblocks.
Maps of Africa Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich at the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the 15th to early 20th century.
McKenney and Hall: History of the Indian Tribes Images from Hisotry of the Indian Tribes of North America, with Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes of the Principal Chief. Embellished with One Hundred and Twenty Portraits, from the Indian Gallery in the Department of War, at Washington.
New York City Department of Records
"Welcome to the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 870,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time."
Nicholas V. Artamonoff Collection - Archaeological Sites in Turkey
The Nicholas V. Artamonoff Collection includes 542 photographs taken in Istanbul and five archaeological sites in Western Turkey (Ephesus, Hierapolis, Laodicea on the Lycus, Pergamum, Priene) from 1935 to 1945.
Pratt Institute Fashion Plate Collection Hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton (considered the most influential fashion magazine during its existence from 1912-1925) an dits American edition, La Gazette du Bon Ton. These plates date from 1922.
Real Virtual: Representing Architectural Time and Space (Columbia University)
"This History of Architecture Web site is designed to support undergraduate education, from introductory art and architectural history surveys to advanced courses on specific art historical periods and themes."
Reed College Artist's Book Collection
Rembrandt Database
The Rembrandt Database is an English website with research material, texts, images, and other data on paintings by Rembrandt and those attributed to him.
Tate Audio Arts archive
"Explore and listen to the innovative audio cassette-magazine Audio Arts, established by Bill Furlong in 1972"
The Huntington Archive "This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington unless otherwise noted."
The Svetlana Tomekovic Database of Byzantine Art
vads: the online resource for visual arts VADS is a searchable online resource with image collections covering fashion, textiles, architecture, design, posters, political cartoons, photography, sculpture, painting and more. The collections are UK centric as the resource was created for use by educators and students in the UK.
Walters Art Museum
Willard D. Straight in Korea: 1904-1905 Willard Straight worked in Korea as a Reuters correspondent during the Russo-Japanese War and as U.S. diplomat. He sketched Japanese and Russian soldiers and Korean people. Over 200 of his drawings, photographs, and postcards offer a rare example of western perspectives on Korea during the early 20th century.
World Images The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
World Images - Africa Africa starts with Ancient Africa then shows images of African people and of their diaspora around the world. The arts of Egypt and prehistoric North Africa are followed by Algera, Libya, Tunesia, Ethiopia , East , West and Central Africa.
World Images - Archaeological Sites and Modern Cities The portfolios in this section bring together materials from specific sites, including ancient archaeological sites and modern cities.
World Images - Asia This section contains images from all over Asia, from China, Central Asia, South Asia, South East Asia, India, Japan, Korea, Tibet, Nepal and the Philippines. In addition to art works there are images of Asians themselves and of their interactions with the west.
World Images - Daily Life and Material Culture
World Images - Europe European art and life starts with the Prehistoric and Ancient worlds, including the Greeks and Romans. It moves on to the Medieval period with Early Christian and Byzantine, Migration and Carolingian periods to Romanesque and Gothic art and architecture. Next the Renaissance in Italy and Northen Europe, the Baroque and Rococo styles focusing on Italy, Holland and France, and finally the 19th century, with an emphasis on the art styles of France.
World Images - The Americas The Americas contains portfolios from the Pre-Columbian period in Mesoamerica and the Andean area. Native American portfolios are divided into Paleo-Indian, Southwestern, PacificCoast and Alaskia, the Great Plains, Eastern and South Eastern images and representations of Native Americans. North American images are divided by century and media, with sections on both North American and Latin American history.
World Images - The Arts: Dance, Music, Theater & Visual Arts The arts are emphasized here: music, dance, and theater from around the world. Various aspects of the visual arts are included, grouped in non-chronological ways, for example artists portraits, artists on art, and women artists. Still lifes and landscapes are grouped together, as are photographs and graphic arts. Museum and gallery collections are shown here.
World Images - The Middle East European interpretations of Middle Easterns are contrasted to contemporary portraits. Then come images of ancient Mesopotamia, the 'land between the rivers' where civilization is thought to have started. Then we see Iran, the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, These are followed by sections on Jews and Judaism and Islamic art and culture.
Your Paintings (UK Oil Paintings Catalogue) In partnership with the Public Catalogue Foundation, this site provides information on publicly owned oil (and sometimes acrylic and tempera) paintings in the United Kingdom. Images are restricted by BBC terms of use, but the collection is very useful for research purposes.

History, Economics, Geography, and Politics

Archive of Early American Images from Brown University Graphic representations of the colonial Americas (including maps), from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
ARTstor
Beyond the Taj Beyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
Billie Jean Isbell Andean Collection Images are derived from Professor Billie Jean Isbell's research in the Andes, primarily in the southern Andean department of Ayacucho and specifically in the village of Chuschi, Peru, and the surrounding region of the River Pampas Valley in the province of Cangallo.
Bodleian Library: John Johnson Collection, Trades and Professions
British Pathé YouTube channel Footage of major events in Britain and around the world from 1896-1976.
Carolingian Culture at Reichenau & St. Gall "This website presents digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script. Both of these are complimented by various resources to assist in their study, providing further information about the material and intellectual contexts of Reichenau and St. Gall."
Catena - Historic Gardens and Landscape Archive Collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.
Chinese in California 1850-1925 The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Historical map collection focused on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts "The DMMapp, or Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app, links to more 300+ digital libraries home to 20'000+ medieval manuscripts! It's easy to navigate and is constantly updated. It is based on our crowd-sourced data that you can contribute to!"
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
George Catlin: The Printed Works This collection contains images from the following Catlin titles: The Manners, Customs and Condition of the North American Indians. Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio; Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America; Adventures of the Ojibbeway and Ioway Indians of England, France, and Belgium; Being Notes of Eight Years Travels and Resdince in Europe with His North American Indian Collection
Hoover Institution Russian Poster Collection Russian political posters.
Japanese Historical Maps from East Asian Library at UC Berkeley Maps from the Mitsui Library collection. Most date from the period before 1890 and are printed on handmade paper, a considerable number from woodblocks.
The Huntington Archive "This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington unless otherwise noted."
Maps of Africa Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich at the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the 15th to early 20th century.
McKenney and Hall: History of the Indian Tribes Images from Hisotry of the Indian Tribes of North America, with Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes of the Principal Chief. Embellished with One Hundred and Twenty Portraits, from the Indian Gallery in the Department of War, at Washington.
New York City Department of Records
"Welcome to the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 870,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time."
Shorpy.com
"The 100-Year-Old Photo Blog. Shorpy.com/Hisotryin HD is a vintage photo blog featuring thousands of high-definition images from the 1850s to 1950s. The site is named after Shorpy Higginbotham, a teenage coal miner who lived 100 years ago." Most images are from the Library of Congress collections.
Wellcome Images Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Willard D. Straight in Korea: 1904-1905 Willard Straight worked in Korea as a Reuters correspondent during the Russo-Japanese War and as U.S. diplomat. He sketched Japanese and Russian soldiers and Korean people. Over 200 of his drawings, photographs, and postcards offer a rare example of western perspectives on Korea during the early 20th century.
World Images - Africa Africa starts with Ancient Africa then shows images of African people and of their diaspora around the world. The arts of Egypt and prehistoric North Africa are followed by Algera, Libya, Tunesia, Ethiopia , East , West and Central Africa.
World Images - Archaeological Sites and Modern Cities The portfolios in this section bring together materials from specific sites, including ancient archaeological sites and modern cities.
World Images - Asia This section contains images from all over Asia, from China, Central Asia, South Asia, South East Asia, India, Japan, Korea, Tibet, Nepal and the Philippines. In addition to art works there are images of Asians themselves and of their interactions with the west.
World Images - Daily Life and Material Culture
World Images - Europe European art and life starts with the Prehistoric and Ancient worlds, including the Greeks and Romans. It moves on to the Medieval period with Early Christian and Byzantine, Migration and Carolingian periods to Romanesque and Gothic art and architecture. Next the Renaissance in Italy and Northen Europe, the Baroque and Rococo styles focusing on Italy, Holland and France, and finally the 19th century, with an emphasis on the art styles of France.
World Images - History, Government, Politics, War & Revolution Historical images from the countries of Europe and America are organized into portoliosby country and period. Various aspects of government are shown and the portfolios of warfare.
World Images - Modern World The Modern World contains portfolios showing the arts, the politics and the wars of the 19th and 20th centuries.
World Images - The Americas The Americas contains portfolios from the Pre-Columbian period in Mesoamerica and the Andean area. Native American portfolios are divided into Paleo-Indian, Southwestern, PacificCoast and Alaskia, the Great Plains, Eastern and South Eastern images and representations of Native Americans. North American images are divided by century and media, with sections on both North American and Latin American history.
World Images - The Middle East European interpretations of Middle Easterns are contrasted to contemporary portraits. Then come images of ancient Mesopotamia, the 'land between the rivers' where civilization is thought to have started. Then we see Iran, the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, These are followed by sections on Jews and Judaism and Islamic art and culture.
World Images - Tools, Technology, Trade & Commerce All cultures have economic lives, most of which include trade, whether in local markets or between distant places. In many money replaces barter, and coins which themselves are art works. Financial institutions develop to facilitate trade. Technology and industry, and types of transportation are illustrated here.

Sciences

Digital New Zealand DigitalNZ is the search site for all things New Zealand. We connect you to reliable digital collections from our content partners, including: libraries museums galleries government departments the media community groups, and others. On DigitalNZ you can discover more than 30 million digital items from more than 200 organisations on any topic, all for free. You'll find: videos newspapers maps photographs audio artworks news reports
Europeana Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
Library of Congress: Science Reference Section
Medical Heritage Library Flickr Photostream
NASA Images
National Archives: Environmental Studies: Documerica by Topic
For the Documerica Project (1971-1977), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) hired freelance photographers to capture images relating to environmental problems, EPA activities, and everyday life in the 1970s. The National Archives digitized part of the series "Documerica" (Local ID 412-DA). More than 15,000 of these images are available in the National Archives Catalog.
Science Photo Library
"Science Photo Library (SPL) provides creative professionals with striking specialist imagery, unrivalled in quality, accuracy and depth of information. We have more than 350,000 images and 20,000 clips to choose from, with hundreds of new submissions uploaded to the website each week."
United States Government Images
Virtual Astronomy Multimedia Project
World Images - Science, Medicine, and Mathematics This is an excellent place to look for images illustrating the historical background of contemporary sciences.
Wellcome Images Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

Boatwright Memorial Library

RHCS 295: Vision & Visuality in Rhetorical Criticism: Finding Images on the Web