Finding Movies in the Library Catalog
The library has an extensive collection of DVD's, Blu-rays, and VHS as well as numerous streaming video platforms. Here are some tips for searching for films in the catalog:
- Filter the results of your search by Video/DVD, DVD only, or Streaming Video.
- Search the catalog (Books and More) for specific titles, it helps to put exact titles in quotations like "The Wild Bunch". If you are searching for a film that has a non-English title, the title in the film's original language may appear first in the record.
- Search for contributors/creators. Films do not have just one "author" like books do. They have directors, actors, editors, producers- and filter the results.
- Search by language. Films are categorized by language, but take note that some films have multiple languages. For example- search the catalog for Motion pictures Japanese and filter the results.
- Search for films by country of production- the country of production does not just include a film's location- it includes the countries that financially produced the film as well. So, take this into consideration if you are just looking for films based in a certain place, or national cinemas. For example you can search for Motion pictures Spain, and then filter the results .
- Search for films by genre or form, for example Animated films, Western films, War films, Experimental films, Suspense films, Adventure films, Documentary films, Silent films.
- Streaming movies are added to the catalog every few months, so for the best results it helps to search the streaming video platform directly. See the links below.
- All DVD's, Blu-ray's and VHS are located on the second floor of the library.
Using the Library Catalog
The first place to check for books on your topic is Books & More (Catalog). Here are some quick tips for effective catalog searches:
If you are looking for books by a writer, use the Author search (last name first) (same for any artist, such as a director, musician, or actor.
If you want books about an author, use the Subject Heading Browse search (last name first).
Here are some search tips for searching by subject heading:
- Motion pictures - this is the subject heading used for all books about film, including film criticism, reference sources, and books about production.
- [Genre] films - searching by specific genres will help you narrow your search, genres include Western films, Experimental films, Silent films, or Documentary films.
- [Topic] and motion pictures - If you are focusing on a specific topic, try searching by linking your topic to motion pictures, for example Feminism and motion pictures, Motion pictures and music, Motion pictures and literature.
- [Topic] in motion pictures - To find resources about topics in motion pictures such as Death in motion pictures, Ecology in motion pictures, Emigration and immigration in motion pictures.
- Motion pictures [country of origin/region] - Search for national cinemas for example Motion pictures China. In the catalog note the official subject heading will be Motion pictures -- China.
Here are some subject headings you may find useful:
- Spain - Civilization- 20th century
- Spain - History - 20th Century
- Spain - Politics and Government
- Spain - Social Life and Customs- 20th century
- Popular culture--Spain--History--20th century
- Art, Modern--20th century--Spain
- Spanish literature--20th century
- Motion pictures-Spain-History
Of course, you can also use keyword searches, especially using terms found in contents notes, abstracts, or subjects headings.
Free & Legal Streaming Video Resources on the Web
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive's moving image collection provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by users, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, and ephemeral films from the Prelinger Archive.
- MargenesMárgenes es un espacio de cine que ofrece al gran público la posibilidad de acceder a películas iberoamericanas de calidad surgidas en la periferia de la industria cinematográfica convencional o de marcado carácter autoral. Una ventana para dar a conocer, difundir y promocionar la parte más inquieta y atractiva de la creación audiovisual iberoamericana actual. Una herramienta de exhibición, observación y promoción especializada en cine independiente y de calidad.
- European Film GatewayThe EFG Portal gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials. Targeted at scientific researchers and the interested public alike, the EFG offers a look at and behind the scenes of filmmaking in Europe from the early days until today.
Streaming Video Resources in the Library
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowSearch this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStream new and classic Hollywood films, documentaries, and TV series from major studios. The videos in this database are requested by professor for specific course and licensed for a limited time. (Swank)
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowStream numerous documentary and social issue films from a variety of companies, including Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. (Docuseek)
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
