Contact Us:
American Historical News Sources
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including African American newspapers and women's suffrage newspapers. (Coherent Digital)
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from historical newspapers published between 1770-1963. Only some newspapers have been digitized and are available online. For others, you can find details on what newspapers were published where in the U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-present. (Library of Congress)
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 5 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- Magazine Archives on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Atlantic (1857-2014), Bloomberg Businessweek (1929-2010), Forbes (1917-2000), Fortune (1930-2000), Life (1936-2000), Moment (1975-2010), The Nation (1865-2020), National Review (1955-2020), The New Republic (1914-2020), and US News & World Report (1948-1984). (EBSCO)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- OpinionArchives This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles from a variety of popular magazines and newspapers, including American Spectator, Commonweal, Dissent, The New Leader, The Progressive, LaFollette's Magazine, The Weekly Standard, Moment, Washington Monthly, Orion, Americas Quarterly, and the Washington Examiner. (OpinionArchives)
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2011. (ProQuest)
- Washington Post Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Washington Post from 1877-2006. (ProQuest)
International Historical News Sources
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new windowSearch this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new windowSearch broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
British Historical News Sources
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of British newspapers and pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), which helps chart the development of the newspaper from published transcripts to coffee house newsbooks to the newspaper as we know it today. (Gale)
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Economist. Find editorials, news, and commentary that offer insight into British, European, American, and world affairs. (Gale)
- Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2021) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of Financial Times. (Gale)
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from this fully-illustrated weekly British newspaper. It covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, science and medicine, social history, sports, transportation, and travel. (Gale)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
Black/African-American Newspaper Collections
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including African American newspapers and women's suffrage newspapers. (Coherent Digital)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 5 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Black Newspapers Collection | Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections (IDNC)The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections (IDNC) now include a Black Newspapers Collection. Currently the collection consists of 14 newspaper titles (3400 issues) that were owned by, operated by, or intended for Black communities in Illinois, ranging in date from 1897 to 2003.