Business Librarian
Industry Classification
- Understanding NAICS CodesThis guide, from IBIS World, describes the purpose and uses of NAICS codes.
- NAICS Code changesThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), the primary classification system used to measure our evolving economy, was recently updated. This page explains the rationale behind and implications of those changes.
Best Resources for Industry Information
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports for different industries in the US and select international markets, as well as state-specific industry reports and company benchmarking reports for more than 5000 companies. Reports include trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasts, and industry growth rates. (IBISWorld)
- BizMiner Academic This link opens in a new window
Search this database for industry financial analysis and marketing research reports by industry and size. It provides startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup P&L detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P&L and ratios. (BizMiner)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowIndustry Reports are available under the "Industry Surveys" tab.
- Statista Industry ReportsComprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Access public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. Also included are reports from First Research. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Search for industry ratios and norms for over 800 industries on public and private companies. Search on on SIC and NAICs code and line of business, and download and create reports. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
Databases with content for specific industries:
- Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) This link opens in a new window
Reports covering key technology areas such as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. Report types include tutorials, marketplace overviews, product and service selection guides, product and company profiles, and directories. (Information Today, Inc.)
- Music Ally This link opens in a new window
Access insight briefings, monthly insight reports, news, marketing reports, trend reports, country profiles, and data on the music industry. (Academic Rights Press)
- Music ID This link opens in a new window
Search for data on the global music industry, including information on iTunes downloads, Spotify and Apple Music streams, and Shazam searches, as well as contemporary and historical data from charts such as Billboard. This database also tracks the worldwide top earning recordings of the 21st century, revealing the most successful artists, singles, and albums of the last twenty years. (Academic Rights Press)
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics on sporting goods and the sports marketing industry, including equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, and more. (SBRnet)
Market Research Resources
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowAccess product and industry market research reports covering US and international marketplaces. (Mintel Group)
- Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Access data on market size, market share, and segmentation, along with supporting trend forecasts. (Mintel Group)
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Access market research reports from a range of publishers covering every sector of the economy as well as emerging industries, with a particular focus on consumer goods and services. Coverage includes both US and international content. (MarketResearch.com)
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Access business, consumer, and market data from a variety of sources, including Neilsen, Simmons, and the Census Bureau. Using this data, you can build reports, export data, and create maps. Choose "Sign in as a guest" or create a personal account in order to save your work. Note: Only 10 users may access this database at one time. (SimplyAnalytics)
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Access data, research reports, and forecasts for a range of industries, including advertising and marketing, social media, financial services (including fintech), technology, health, automotive, ecommerce and retail. It includes US and international content. (eMarketer, Inc.)
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business and economics. (ProQuest)