Business Librarian
Country Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Access reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Statista This link opens in a new windowClick the link for "Reports", then scroll down to the "Country Reports" session to see all available reports. Included:
--Market entry reports including all relevant data on a given country
--Evaluated and compiled by the team of country analysts
--Available for download in PDF format - Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Access country, industry and company data and analysis from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. The database includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news. Note: Only 2 users may access this database at one time. (ISI Emerging Markets Group)
- Country Risk Reports (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
Access political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Each report contains a Country Risk Indicator Summary, Key Statistics, and in-depth analysis of Political Risk, Macroeconomic Risk, Commercial Risk, and External Economic Risk. This database is updated weekly. (LSEG - Mergent)
- World Bank Documents and Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for reports and working papers published by the World Bank on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. (World Bank)
Other Resources:
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
- Current Country Commercial GuidesThese guides, prepared by US Embassies abroad, provide information on "market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide."
- Country StudiesIn-depth analysis of of the historical, social, political and governmental institutions and systems of countries throughout the world.
- Country Background NotesDescriptions of countries covering history, people, economy and political conditions by the US State Department
- International Business Etiquette, Manners & CultureA website providing information on 32 countries and six world regions, including information on religion, appearance, communication and more.
- Transformation Index BTIThe Bertelsmann Stiftung’s Transformation Index (BTI) analyzes and evaluates whether and how developing countries and countries in transition are steering social change toward democracy and a market economy.
Country Risk Reports
A number of databases provide information about political and economic risk in different countries.
- Country Risk Reports (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
Access political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Each report contains a Country Risk Indicator Summary, Key Statistics, and in-depth analysis of Political Risk, Macroeconomic Risk, Commercial Risk, and External Economic Risk. This database is updated weekly. (LSEG - Mergent)
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Access country, industry and company data and analysis from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. The database includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news. Note: Only 2 users may access this database at one time. (ISI Emerging Markets Group)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBMI (Business Monitor International) reports are available by searching for "BMI Research" with a country name and/or the word "risk". Political Risk Yearbooks (from the PRS Group) are available by searching for "Political Risk Yearbook" and changing the "Select a Field" box to "SO Publication Name".
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowClick the "Country Reports" link on the left to search specifically for country reports from Fitch/BMI and Economist Intelligence Unit.
