Historical Collections
-
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica [1777-2005]All of Spain's national newspapers, regional and local papers, and obscure publications, including titles published during the Spanish Civil War. Website written in Spanish. (free)
-
El Clamor Publico [1855-1859]The first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. Available through a partnership with The Huntington Library and USC Libraries. (free)
-
Hemeroteca DigitalDigital collection of newspapers from the National Library of Spain. The site and newspapers are in Spanish. (free)
-
Hemeroteca Digital Fray Francisco de Paula Castañeda [1911-1979]Digitized copies of newspapers from the Province of Santa Fe, Argentina. (free)
-
La Gaceta [1922-2011]Spanish language newspaper published in Tampa, Florida. Provided by the University of Florida Digital Collections. (free)
Newspapers in Databases
Databases that include Latin American newspapers are listed below.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
Contemporary Collections
-
ABC (Spanish Newspaper)Third largest newspaper in Spain and the oldest one published in Madrid. There is also an archive. (free)
-
el MundoThe second largest daily newspaper in Spain. (free)
-
Lawndale News, Bilingual Hispanic NewspaperChicagoland's Largest Hispanic Bilingual Newspaper. Web Archives at the bottom of the far right column. (free)
-
Mexican Newspapers, Mexican PressList of online Mexican newspapers, provided by onlinenewspapers.com. (free)
-
Onlinenewspapers - North American NewspapersIncludes Mexican and Caribbean newspapers. (free)
-
Onlinenewspapers.com - South American & Central American NewspapersTitles arranged under continent headings. (free)
-
Puerto Rico Newspapers & News MediaNational and local newspapers from Puerto Rico, in Spanish and English. (free)
-
Spanish Newspapers OnlineLinks to newspapers from the Caribbean Islands, Latin American, Mexico, South American, and Spain. (free)
-
The Trinidad Guardian Newspaper Archive [2007-present]Oldest daily newspaper in Trinidad and Tobago. Online newspaper written in English. (free)
Spanish Language News Podcasts
NPR has a free news broadcast in Spanish, Radio Ambulants : https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510315/radio-ambulante?t=1558519800917.
El Mundo also has podcasts, https://www.elmundo.es/podcasts.html.
Nómadas is a travel show Radio Nacional de España — Spain’s public radio station that takes you to a different corner of the world every week and brings you voices, sounds and stories from that destination, https://www.rtve.es/play/audios/nomadas/.
If you’re just getting started, News in Slow Spanish, is a good option. It has two versions: one using Spanish as it’s spoken in Spain and the other focusing on Latin American Spanish. The aptly-named podcast features discussions of current news stories in Spanish, but spoken slowly and clearly so it’s easy for non-native speakers to understand. https://www.newsinslowspanish.com/latino
. El Washington Post is WP’s Spanish language podcast. https://www.washingtonpost.com/podcasts/el-post/.
El Hilo is a weekly news show in Spanish that aims to go in-depth on a single story in each episode. A co-production of Radio Ambulante Estudios and Vice News, the show tells stories from all over Latin America and the U.S., https://elhilo.audio/.
Radio Bilingüe’s Edición Semanaria is a fourteen-minute news capsule in Spanish covering top stories in the U.S. and Latin America. http://radiobilingue.org/en/rb-programas/edicion-semanaria/
El Vocero has audio/video news from Puerto Rico, https://www.elvocero.com/videos/
Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
