Language Resources
- WordReference ForumsDictionaries and discussion forums for Italian and other modern languages.
- TLIO - Il dizionario storico della lingua italianaHistorical dictionary of the Italian language.
- Garzanti LinguisticaOnline Italian dictionary. Requires users to register (free).
- Dizionario Biografico degli ItalianiBiographical dictionary from Treccani.
- VERBIXItalian verb conjugator
Italian Literature
- Biblioteca della Letteratura ItalianaDigital archive of classic literature from the publisher Einaudi.
- Italian Women Writers ProjectFrom the University of Chicago
- The World of DanteA multimedia research tool to facilitate the study of the Divine Comedy.
- Dartmouth Dante ProjectA searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy
- Medici Archive ProjectOver 3 million private letters and documents from the Medici Granducal Archive (1537-1743)
- Progetto PicoFull text, in Latin, Italian, and English, of Pico della Mirandola's The Discourse on the Dignity of Man (1486), considered the "Manifesto of the Renaissance."
- Decameron WebBrown University's hypermedia archive of materials related to Boccaccio's Decameron.
Italian Culture
- Ministero dei Beni CulturaliOfficial website of the Italian Ministry of Culture.
- Ministero dell'Università e della RicercaOfficial website of the Italian Ministry of Higher Education and Research.
- ViafariniItalian contemporary art.
- Life in ItalyLife in Italy is dedicated to modern Italian life and culture.
- Foundation For Italian Art and CulturePromotes knowledge and appreciation of Italian cultural and artistic traditions from the classical period to modern times.
Maps of Italy
- Perry Casteñada Map collectionVarious contemporary and historical maps in this special collection at the University of Texas
- Maps of WorldOffers numerous free digital maps as well as paper maps that can be purchased. Site has lots of ads that sometimes make the content hard to see