Finding Articles
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
-
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business and economics. (ProQuest)
-
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Use the database in two ways: 1) Search the open access database for working papers that are posted here before being published in an official journal. 2) Request an account to specific networks by emailing Carrie Ludovico. These networks provide access to articles from subscription journals on specific topics. UR has access to the Accounting Research Network, Corporate Governance Research Network, Economics Research Network, Entrepreneurship Research and Policy Network, Financial Economics Network, Information Systems & eBusiness Network, Innovation Research Network, Management Research Network, and Social Insurance Research Network. (Elsevier)
-
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
-
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
-
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from this fully-illustrated weekly British newspaper. It covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, science and medicine, social history, sports, transportation, and travel. (Gale)
-
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
-
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new windowTLS is a separate publication that is connected with The Times of London. Search this database for book reviews, book extracts, essays, and poems from leading writers from around the world. The TLS reviews books published in non-English languages, as well as film, opera, theatre, dance, radio, and television. (Gale)
Physical Books
From the results screen, you can narrow down results to just books available in person at UR by clicking the "In the Library" and "Books" filters from the left-side of the screen
Ebooks
There are two main ways to specifically find ebooks in the library:
1. OneSearch
- After searching for your topic in OneSearch, add the "Online" and "Books" filters to narrow results to ebooks
2. Ebooks Databases
- Access the following databases directly to search for relevant ebooks
- ***Note: these are not the only ebook databases available at UR, nor do they feature results that wouldn't come up in OneSearch. Rather they allow you to more easily browse relevant ebooks based on your research topic
-
eBook Collection (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks from subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. (Oxford)
-
eBook Collection (Taylor & Francis) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (Taylor & Francis)
-
eBook Collection (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on a wide range of topics from university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. Note: Books and journal articles are searched through the same portal, so make sure to filter by books. (ITHAKA)
-
eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Example UR Library Books
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)