Finding Books
Search in the library catalog for books using OneSearch
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
From the results screen, you can narrow down results to just books available in person at UR by clicking the "In the Library" and "Books" filters from the left-side of the screen
Books related to sustainability, environmental science, and more course topics can be found in the following call number ranges, located on the B2 level of Boatwright:
- G156: History of travel and tourism
- G156.5 A-Z: Special Topics
- Includes books on agritourism, ecotourism, food tourism, sustainable tourism, and more
- GE1 - 350: Environmental Sciences
- GE25 - 35: Communication in Environmental Sciences
- GE40 - 45: Philosophy / Relation to other topics
- GE50: History
- GE70 - 90: Environmental Education, Study, and Teaching Resources
- GE140 - 160: Environmental Conditions; Environmental Quality; Environmental Indicators; Environmental Degradation
- GE170 - 190: Environmental Policy
- GE195 - 199: Environmentalism; Green Movement
- GE220 - 240: Environmental Justice
- GE300 - 350: Environmental Management
- GF1 - 900: Human Ecology
- HC10 - 1085: Economic History and Conditions
- S1 - 972: Agriculture (Conservation of natural resources also falls into this category)
- TJ807: 830 Renewable Energy Sources
There are two main ways to specifically find ebooks in the library:
1. OneSearch
- After searching for your topic in OneSearch, add the "Online" and "Books" filters to narrow results to ebooks
2. Ebooks Databases
- Use the following databases to directly search for relevant ebooks
- These are not the only ebook databases available at UR, nor do they feature results that wouldn't come up in OneSearch. Rather they allow you to more easily browse relevant ebooks based on your research topic
-
eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
-
eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
-
eBook Collection (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to the sciences, business, math, and psychology. (Elsevier)
-
eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
-
eBook Collection (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on a wide range of topics from university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. Note: Books and journal articles are searched through the same portal, so make sure to filter by books. (ITHAKA)
-
eBook Collection (Project MUSE) This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on a wide range of topics from major university presses and scholarly publishers, mostly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
-
eBook Collection (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to business and science. (Wiley)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- You can request books (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)