Archival Collection Locators
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowAccess archival finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world. (OCLC)
Policy Databases
Policy Studies:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on public policy issues from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. (ProQuest)
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowAccess a data and mapping resource that combines demographic, health, employment, and socioeconomic data about communities, census tracts, and other regions within the United States. (PolicyMap)
Other Database Resources
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCreate reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
Primary Source Databases
For a more complete list of available primary source databases, see the History Research Guide primary source database page
- African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
Search an archive of thousands of fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature. (Newsbank/Readex)
- AIDS Crisis Response: Records of the National Commission on AIDS, 1983-1994 This link opens in a new windowThe National Commission on AIDS was an independent body created in 1989 to advise Congress and the President on the development of a "consistent national policy" concerning the HIV epidemic. This database contains records connected to their work, including briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings. (Gale)
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents (mostly manuscripts) that illuminate American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowFind manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from American Indians' earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
- American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published between 1740-1940 in special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Topic covered include history, law, politics, religion, education, art, and more. (ProQuest)
- American West This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents on the westward expansion of the United States. Topics covered include exploration by early pioneers, the Gold Rush, evolution of Western towns, the growth of the railroad, agricultural transformation, Texas/Mexico history, and Native American history and culture. (AM)
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of nonfiction writings by major American Black leaders, including books, letters, speeches, essays, interviews, and political leaflets. Researchers can study the historical development of Black culture by examining the ideas of one individual over time or compare the thinking of various figures on a given topic. (Alexander Street Press)
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source materials and videos that cover the community and contributions of people who experience disability. Topics include war and technology, how the media has portrayed the disabled, and the advocacy work of disability rights organizations. (Alexander Street Press)
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that illustrate the links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as chart key issues around agriculture, nutrition, food production, and advertising. Items include manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, correspondence, government reports, and other illustrated content. (AM)
- HistoryMakers Video Archive This link opens in a new windowWatch videos of thousands of oral history interviews that highlight the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. (HistoryMakers)
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents covering the political, social, and cultural history of North American indigenous peoples from the sixteenth century until the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. (Gale)
- Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published in Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody, which focused on the daily life, interests, and values of middle America. The magazine presented Information in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion-picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. (Gale)
- Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project This link opens in a new windowAccess primary source documents from the Federal Writers' Project, which employed thousands of people during the Great Depression to create state and city guides, local and oral histories, poems and plays, ethnographies, children's books, and more. (Gale)
- Native American Archives (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch several archives about the history of Native Americans in the 1800s-1960s. This includes correspondence in the Presbyterian Historical Society's Collection of Missionaries' Letters, FBI Files on the American Indian Movement, the Meriam Report, the Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands, and the War Department's supervision of Indian Affairs. (Gale)
- Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources that document the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Learn more about the evolution of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at local, national, and federal levels. (Gale)
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
Newspaper & Periodical Databases
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy This link opens in a new windowSearch staff and office files from the George H.W. Bush presidency, including letters, memoranda, reports, related to the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues such as endangered species and protection of American wetlands. (Gale)
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Economist. Find editorials, news, and commentary that offer insight into British, European, American, and world affairs. (Gale)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 13 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier and St. Louis American). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888-present. (Gale)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new windowTLS is a separate publication that is connected with The Times of London. Search this database for book reviews, book extracts, essays, and poems from leading writers from around the world. The TLS reviews books published in non-English languages, as well as film, opera, theatre, dance, radio, and television. (Gale)
Reference/Background Resources
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch for case studies, journal articles, news, and videos in the areas of sustainability, policy, and environmental studies. (Gale)
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays that provide an introduction to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include Africana studies, anthropology, classical studies, English and literature, music, philosophy, and religious studies. (Cambridge)
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics by Call Number: GE42 .O84 2017 (Print book)ISBN: 9780199941339Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780199566600Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Political Theory by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780199685271Publication Date: 2016
Secondary Source Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on various topics connected with agriculture, climate change, energy, the environment, natural resources, toxic waste, and sustainability. This database includes both AGRICOLA and TOXLINE as sub-databases. (ProQuest)
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- Environment & Energy (E&E) News This link opens in a new windowRead the latest news in the areas of the environment and energy. Find information on regulations, climate policy, public lands, endangered species, electric utilities, cybersecurity, air and water pollution, corporate sustainability, transportation, infrastructure, and oil, natural gas, coal, nuclear, and renewables. (Politico)
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch for case studies, journal articles, news, and videos in the areas of sustainability, policy, and environmental studies. (Gale)
- GeoBase (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowSearch for peer-reviewed articles in geography, geology and ecology. (Elsevier)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to humans' impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)