Citing Artwork in MLA
The general format for works of art in your bibliography or works cited page is:
Artist Last Name, Artis First Name. Title (in italics). Date, repository (museum), city. Materials, size.
If you don’t know the materials or size, that is ok, but include them if you have them at hand.
SAMPLE:
Dürer, Albrecht. The Triumphal Arch of Maximillian I: Detail 20. 1515-1517, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, MA. Woodcut on paper, 46.7 x 56.5 cm.
Research Appointments
- Book an appointment with Dr. KeeferMeeting times are in 1/2 hour increments.
Visual Resources Librarian - Images, Art, Architecture, Urbanism
Sources for Printing and Printmakers
The dissertations listed here, while not exactly on the topics listed in your assignment, give a good background for the work on contemporary printmakers. Most useful will be the bibliographies of these texts.
- The Printmaking Boom and Its Effect on the Future for the Market for Prints and Multiples byISBN: 9798819336120Publication Date: 2022Dissertation: The purpose of this study is to examine the history of the market for prints and multiples beginning with the print renaissance of the 1960s to discover the underlying drivers of a successful editions market and make predictions for the future. Before the print boom of the 1960s, driven by the departure of printmakers from Europe during World War II, who reinvigorated a passion for the artistic process, printmaking was considered that of a craft.
- New York School Painters and the Development of Avant-Garde Printmaking in the United States byISBN: 9781369331776Publication Date: 2016Dissertation: This dissertation documents two parallel narratives. One narrative chronicles opportunities for vanguard printmaking in the United States in the 1940s through the early 1960s, as they were introduced by innovative entrepreneurs such as Stanley William Hayter, Tatyana Grosman, and June Wayne. For many first-generation New York School painters working during this period, printmaking retained associations with social realism and figurative imagery.
- Romancing the stone: Printmaking and the body in the 1960s and 1970s byISBN: 9781339181912Publication Date: 2007Dissertation: This thesis examines the way in which printmaking proved to be a powerfully appropriate venue for artists to work through issues of identity in 1960s and 1970s. By shifting the discourse away from traditional materials and objects that manifest intuition, many artists working during this period turned to conceptual art, body art, and performance art as a way to synthesize data and ideas.
Recommended Resources
- ARTstorThis image collection is made of images from museums, archives, libraries, and houses our own University of Richmond Teaching collection.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; and architectural design. (EBSCO)
- A&A ePortal This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. (Yale University Press)
- EAI Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new windowAccess a comprehensive video art collection from the mid-1960s to the present. EAI is a nonprofit arts organization that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution, and preservation of video art and digital art projects. (EAI)
- Projectr EDU This link opens in a new windowStream independent, foreign, and documentary films from a variety of distributors. (Projectr EDU)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of digital images sourced from museums, galleries, contemporary artists, and private collections. (Bridgeman Education)
- The [Oxford] Concise Dictionary to Art TermsBaroque to postmodernism, batik to mezzotint, and canvas to porcelain, this dictionary provides succinct and accessible explanations of over 1900 terms used in the wide variety of visual media that make up the art world.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive images and descriptive data of medieval art from late Antiquity to the sixteenth century. (Princeton)
