Citing Images
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.
- Citing Images - GeneralThis site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
- Citing ARTstor ImagesThis page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.
Databases and Web Sites
Many kinds of images can enhance you paper, not just sculptural representations of your subject person. Vases, coins, and architecture may all represent objects or events related to your topic.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images OnlineCAMIO offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.
- CLAROS - Classical Art Research Online ServicesSite allowing searches of databases of vase paintings, gems, sculpture, and iconography.
- Classical Art Research Center (Beazley Archive)300,000+ photographs and drawings of classical art from the University of Oxford's Beazley Archive.
- Google ImagesGoogle Image Search indexes millions of images, and it is searchable by image size, coloration, and subject.
Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
