Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Best Resources for Finding Articles
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from journals that publish feminist research in areas of sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. (EBSCO)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowSearch for information that provides perspective on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. (ProQuest)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- Silva RhetoricaeA primer of rhetoric covering the branches of oratory, rhetorical terminology, rhetorical pedagogy and much more.
- Virtual Salt: A Handbook of Rhetorical DevicesDefinitions and examples of more than sixty traditional rhetorical devices, (including rhetorical tropes and rhetorical figures).
General Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Look up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English by ISBN: 9780203895139Publication Date: 2008-07-25
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Useful Journals
- Rhetoric & Public AffairsThis journal covers the theory, critiques and history of public discourse.
- Philosophy & RhetoricThis journal focuses on the intersection between philosophy and rhetoric, including articles on historical figures and their use and philosophy regarding rhetoric.
- Journal of Contemporary RhetoricPublishes theoretically based analyses that explore the rhetorical workings of current affairs.
- Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in SocietyPresent Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is a peer-reviewed, blind-refereed, online journal dedicated to exploring contemporary social, cultural, political and economic issues through a rhetorical lens.
Some Relevant Books
Handbook of Visual Communication: Theory, Methods, and Media by ISBN: 1283961784Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Performing Gender Violence by Call Number: Circulating Books - Basement Levels PS338.W6 P47 2012ISBN: 9780230339958Publication Date: 2011-12-15
