Reference Resources
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Fuente Académica This link opens in a new windowSearch Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals covering all major subject areas in humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. (EBSCO)
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks for essays that provide an introduction to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include Africana studies, anthropology, classical studies, English and literature, music, philosophy, and religious studies. (Cambridge)
Background/Secondary Source Databases
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
UR Resources of Interest
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents (mostly manuscripts) that illuminate American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. (AM)
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Access archival finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world. (OCLC)
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that illustrate the links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as chart key issues around agriculture, nutrition, food production, and advertising. Items include manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, correspondence, government reports, and other illustrated content. (AM)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996) This link opens in a new window
Search broadcasts and news of selected non-U.S. media sources translated into English by the CIA. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
Other Database Resources
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
Newspaper & Periodical Databases
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain (1800-1900). Note: UR has access to parts I and II of this database. (Gale)
- 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch pamphlets digitized from the collections of several UK universities. These pamphlets cover key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of 19th century Britain. (JSTOR)
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Economist. Find editorials, news, and commentary that offer insight into British, European, American, and world affairs. (Gale)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 13 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier and St. Louis American). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888-present. (Gale)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000 This link opens in a new windowTES is a separate publication that is connected with The Times of London. It was written with teachers in mind and has a particular focus on advocacy of educational reforms. Over the years, its readership expanded to the general public who were interested in school and curriculum developments as well as broader educational issues. (Gale)
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new windowTLS is a separate publication that is connected with The Times of London. Search this database for book reviews, book extracts, essays, and poems from leading writers from around the world. The TLS reviews books published in non-English languages, as well as film, opera, theatre, dance, radio, and television. (Gale)