FYS 100: Storytelling & Identity (Dolson)

From link: https://www.bibliography.com/chicago/chicago-annotated-bibliography-entries/

What is an annotated bibliography?

It is a bibliography in which you include a short summary or abstract of sources you are thinking of using for a paper. It is more than a works cited list, which gives only a bibliographic citation for the source. Annotations should offer a summary of the material as well as critical comments. Critical comments can be supported by comparison to other research or knowledge about the topic. Annotations typically do one or more of the following:

• Describe the content and focus of the book, article or web site
• Suggest the source's usefulness to your research
• Evaluate the source's method, conclusions, or reliability
• Record your reactions to the source

Can an annotated bibliography help me with my research?

They provide readers with background information about your sources, who then may want to consult those sources. Annotations are a great way to help organize your research as you critically evaluate books, journal articles, web sites and other resources.

How do I start writing an annotated bibliography?

It is most useful to begin your annotated bibliography when you begin your research. You can decide from the start which sources are relevant for your research. As you read your material, identify the author(s) argument, main thesis, and summarize what you have read.

How do I format an annotated bibliography?

Create a bibliographic entry for each citation, formatted in proper Chicago style. The annotation starts beneath the citation in paragraph form.