Skip to Main Content
AGSL DIGITAL PHOTO ARCHIVE: ASIA AND MIDDLE EAST
AGSL Digital Photo Archive - Asia and Middle East presents over 28,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. The selection focuses on the countries of Asia and the Middle East. The images come from the collections acquired over many decades by the AGS Library including an extensive photographic print collection. The digital collection is under continuing development.
Beyond the Taj
Beyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
Gairola Indian Art & Architecture Image Collection
This digital collection was researched and prepared by the UW Libraries Special Collections Division in 2011 with a grant from the Friends. Selection of 2500 digitized slides was done by Deepa Banerjee, South Asian Studies Librarian, and the research and descriptive data was prepared by Sarah Ganderup and Cherl Petso. The photographs were taken 1950-2000, with the bulk of the photos from the mid-1960s to the mid-1970s. The collection is a unique set of images that includes a significant representation of Indian art and architecture from the dynastic periods through the early 1960s, as well as art from Asia as a whole. The collection is organized by dynasty, location, and by century.
India Art and Culture: 1300-1900
Catalog of the exhibition held at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sept. 14, 1985-Jan. 5, 1986
This digital collection features fascinating photographs of early 20th century India under British rule. The 217 black and white photographs come from a rare book called India Illustrated: Being a Collection of Pictures of the Cities of Bombay, Calcutta and Madras, Together with a Selection of the Most Interesting Buildings and Scenes throughout India. The book was published by Bennett, Coleman, & Co., publishers of the English language newspaper Times of India, around the year 1905.
The Minassian Collection
This project features Miniature paintings from the estate of Mrs. Adrienne Minassian. The paintings often include text from Persian and Indian tales. Many of the illustrations within the Minassian Collection are depictions of stories from the classical Persian text, Shahnama of Ferdowsi.
National Digital Repository for Museums of India
National Digital Repository for Museums of India provides an all pervasive and integrated access to theme based collections and artefacts irrespective of the physical and geographical locations of museums. The portal introduces India's rich heritage through a diverse range of digital collections in terms of sculptures, paintings, manuscripts, weapons, coins and a numerous other categories of artefacts. The virtual museums are a wealth of knowledge accessible from anywhere and at anytime for students, teachers, researchers and even the tourists. It is perhaps for the first time in world that 10 national museums are made accessible online from one portal. This project is funded by Ministry of Culture, Government of India. The digital collections created using the JATAN: Virtual Museum Builder is integrated in the national digital repository for giving public access through the national portal.