Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Find Journal Articles in Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the life sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to computer science, such as computer theory and systems, new technologies, algorithms, artificial intelligence, electronics, computational mathematics, data security, and more. (EBSCO)
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for doctoral dissertations and masters theses from institutions around the world. (ProQuest)
- EBSCO (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowSelect a subset of EBSCO databases to cross-search them at once. (EBSCO)
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the military and government. (EBSCO)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business and economics. (ProQuest)
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Access Science This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of comprehensive encyclopedia entries covering all major science disciplines. This database also includes definitions of scientific terms, biographies of well-known scientists, a few textbooks, and Schaum's Outlines. (McGraw-Hill)
- Science Fiction: A Very Short Introduction
This volume examines the way changes in science and technology have affected human perception and behaviour and how this has been reflected in science fiction.
The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction by ISBN: 0521016576Publication Date: 2003-11-20This volume brings together essays by scholars and practitioners of science fiction, which look at the genre from different angles.
